SET YOUR CAR
FREE SHIPPING
On Orders of 99+.
TALK TO A PARTS EXPERT
RALLYSPORT GUARANTEE
100% Money Back on Select Parts

Kartboy Rear Subframe Lockdown Bolts

MODEL # KARKB-066

$30.00


40 Reviews
4.7 out of 5 Stars
5 Stars
(30)
4 Stars
(9)
3 Stars
(0)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Stars
(1)
Customer Photos and Videos
Kartboy Rear Subframe Lockdown Bolts ( Part Number: KB-066)
Why not? 1 year ago
5out of 5stars
N.Maletich
For the price and easy install, this became a 'Why not?' purchase. Not as big of an upgrade as I have read from others, but with all the other suspension upgrades/improvements I have, this fell into my cart. Happy with the things I did notice and helps with the extra weight of the wagon body style.
  
Was this review helpful?
GREAT upgrade for GD chassis turbo models 2 years ago
5out of 5stars
Aaron
These are such a relatively inexpensive and impactful addition to your rear subframe suspension. Key things to note are to use an m12 x 1.25 tap and tapping fluid to clean out and recut the threads just from all the rust and road debris that gets kicked up inside the threads (it will save you a headache most likely) and loosening the 4 subframe bolts located just next to the thread holes to make sure everything seats together niecly. I used anti-seize on the bolts before I put them in and torqued the lockdown bolts to 60ft-lbs before re tightening the subframe bolts to 90 ft-lbs going back around to all bolts after everything was put back in just to make sure everything was all tightened to spec. Let me tell oyu how much of a difference it feels like. side to side movement is sturdy and solid with virtually no body roll anymore, upon start up (for my car atleast) there is no shutter in the rear by the diff. from everything being loose, throttle repsonse is a little better seeing as how the rear is now secured down to the frame. I would highly recommend anyone with an 02-07 GD chassis to invest in these, they are incredibly worth it and take about 30 minutes to install.
  
Was this review helpful?
Mandatory GD chassis mod 2 years ago
5out of 5stars
SubyPilot
Of all of my bushing upgrades, this was probably the easiest to install. It also added very noticeable rigidity to the entire car. Its easy, cheap, and noticeably improves the feel of the car. Stop reading reviews and just add these bolts to your next order!
  
Was this review helpful?
Two piece design 3 years ago
5out of 5stars
fox0947
The two piece design allows for the collar to stay in place while the bolt is tightened. Much better than the one piece imo
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great fit and value 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
andrew93761
Went right in with no hassle and, combined with an STI rear sway and Subtle Solutions trunk brace, really tightened up the rear end.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Easy Install, Great Bump in Rear End Stability 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
guest56ad69792a8d256e198b66b5
These bolts were super easy to install after a quick chase of the threads with a tap. Be sure to use a little thread lubricant. For such a minimal part, the difference in performance was quite apparent. The rear feels much more solid under lateral load situations. Why not try them for just $30?!
  
Was this review helpful?
Easy Install and great product! 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
tempemail55ba55c1caae52c9038b5aff
Installed these on my 2004 WRX and immediately after installing, I took the car for a spin and noticed a difference in how the car felt! When powering into a corner, the car felt planted to the ground and all around felt stronger in the rear! Highly recommend for anyone, as it's a very simple install that add great benefits!
  
Was this review helpful?
Great buy 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
ILLsubie
Got ordered and it was at my door really quick. Install was really easy but finding the tap was surprisingly difficult. noticeable difference in how the car handles turns. Feels solid. I don't have any other suspension mods to the car so before and after is very apparent. Up next Sways and new struts. Thanks for the fast shipping and great prices.
  
Was this review helpful?
great for the price  8 years ago
5out of 5stars
odie880
Great for the price make shure to run a tap in the holes to clean them out
  
Was this review helpful?
rallycross racing 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
jonmcnva4129942
I was having issues with alignment changes in the rear after and during rallyx. I check my alignments after every race. always had a change until I bought this awesome product. 3 races and no changes to rear alignment specs after rallyx in DC at summit point events. I've recommended this product to many of co-Subaru owners for one of the best products.
  
Was this review helpful?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
subframe bolt install instructions 9 years ago
5out of 5stars
wildspirit8253253
great product. did this before rear swaybar and IS noticeable. To install: find yourself a M12x1.25 tap and 3/8 drive holder. you also need a 3/8 drive M10 allen socket, 10 extension. clean threads of rust with tap: go 1 turn forward and 1/4 tun back to spit the rust out. Loosen subrame bolts to either side of hole. Its a good idea to put something between diff and ground as to not have it fall on your face. install lock bolts and torque everything to 65 ft/lbs. drive away and smile.
  
Was this review helpful?
Cheap and easy 9 years ago
5out of 5stars
olie
I can't see such a big difference on my wrx 03 with some mods but for 30$ you have the choice between some stickers or these bolt the choice was easy
  
Was this review helpful?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
A bit skeptical at first, but WOW! 10 years ago
5out of 5stars
laplacexformofs12794
I bought these after reading some of the online reviews, and even though I was doubtful of some of the claims, I went for it. I have to admit, some of the claims that it decreases the inherent bounciness of the STi made me a little bit (ok, VERY) skeptical, but it actually does just that (granted, I installed a 25mm sway bar/mounts/endlinks at the same time). I can't speak to the handling improvements due to the additional installs that I did at the same time, but the one thing I can say is that it makes the car feel a lot more solid. Without these, when I went over even a small bump, it felt like it catapulted the car in some arbitrary direction and it felt like the struts were not dampening the recoil AT ALL. Post-install, you can actually feel the car absorbing small bumps instead of bouncing over them. To make an analogy, it turned the suspension feel from a 80's pickup with a totally worn, bouncy suspension to an Infinity G37 (and yes, I have ridden in both ;o) ). One note to those installing them themselves (although, I am not a mechanic, so don't quote me on this) -- the howto on ScoobyMods states that there will be a gap between the black collar and the subframe...this was not the case with my install; the black collar was in full contact with the hole in my '04 STi subframe. I also didn't have to lower the subframe at all to align the holes -- mine were already spot-on. I would DEFINITELY recommend these to any STi owner -- especially older models with more miles.
  
Was this review helpful?
Good upgrade an cheap 10 years ago
5out of 5stars
bladesti
For the price of these this is an excellent upgrade, easy to install an a slight noticeable stiffness, thank you rsd!
  
Was this review helpful?
Have to buy it ! 10 years ago
5out of 5stars
hrvelez
This is one of the few performance mods that actually does what it claims to do.The suspension feels precise and firm,changing lanes on highway is sharp with these bolts installed.
  
Was this review helpful?
Best 30 dollars spent 10 years ago
5out of 5stars
plumma
This simple modification feels so great, I can actually feel the road more and the car is planted even more in the corners. Takes 10 min to install!
  
Was this review helpful?
Yes they are worth it! 10 years ago
5out of 5stars
jacobgraham56508
$30 bolts do what they promise! It takes the small cushion out of the back end, but they help with body roll and unibody twist. You'll notice minor increase in road noise and 'bump' feel, but not enough to complain about. Make sure you loosen the four subframe bolts for install. The bolt are a very tight fit going through the subframe to the unibody crushing the sleeve to the subframe. You'll get resistence, just make sure you are not stipping the threads. I ran a tap up and then ran the bolts up without the crush sleeve to be sure. Total time install = less than 30 minutes...
  
Was this review helpful?
best bang for the buck susp. mod....hands down 10 years ago
5out of 5stars
575rider
Definitely make a difference, haven't tracked or autox'd my car yet so I'm just going by the feel on the street. Wish I'd payed attention to this mod much sooner, I've had my car 5 yrs and this should have been done the first week I owned it.
  
Was this review helpful?
Cheap and good! 10 years ago
5out of 5stars
Rashad
I was a little skeptical at first, wondering how two bolts can provide so many benefits to handling and feel. After an easy install and a long test drive, I was sold. The rear end feels much more planted, it doesn't feel like its swaying when I change lanes or take a hard turn. Everything was tightened up. I'm loving this mod so far. Launching feels more connected, if that's even a feeling. There's no clunking sound as well during acceleration or deceleration. This will also drop your rear end about 1/4, but no big deal. Get these bolts and you will not be disappointed. Thanks to RSD for quick shipping and awesome service.
  
Was this review helpful?
Good proudct. 10 years ago
5out of 5stars
ImprezaJake
Dont feel too much a difference but its not that expensive so why not, installion was kinda difficult. More then I anticipated.
  
Was this review helpful?
excellent product 11 years ago
5out of 5stars
wontuansoup86430
The price and the install was absolutely amazing. I run a Ver8 sti subframe on my 2001 L. bolts right up!
  
Was this review helpful?
Kart Boy FTW!!! 11 years ago
5out of 5stars
busker23
When I first bought my car I was very unimpressed with the way the rear felt. It was sketchy at best never could hold what the front wanted to do and just seemed out of sync with the the complete chassis. After the 5 min install on a lift and some WD40 these bolts slipped right into place. After the install the car come to life. Everything was in harmony and there was actual feedback from the rar of the car. Amazing investment. This should def be in the Top 3 Mods anyone does when they first buy their Suby.
  
Was this review helpful?
perfect fit, easy install, big difference 11 years ago
5out of 5stars
Kevin R.
It cant get easier then putting two bolts into factory made holes. If you dont like the floating feeling in the rear at freeway speeds then this mod is for you. I always felt like the rear was just along for the ride at 85+ around corners, but now it feels like you have control over it.
  
Was this review helpful?
made me a believer 11 years ago
5out of 5stars
kevinjtrnr15420
At first I didn't think these would make such a difference, but I was wrong. First off, make sure you have your holes cleaned out, the install is a lot easier that way. Installed these on my 2002 wrx, and wow it made a difference, for what you pay, it will bring you plenty of smiles.
  
Was this review helpful?
Super Easy Install  11 years ago
5out of 5stars
talltom0414508
Went in nice, look good & give the car a more solid feel
  
Was this review helpful?
Love mods like this 11 years ago
5out of 5stars
Kastley85891
Cake to install. what a difference , no more settle time at turn in in the rear, solid performance... feels like someone has 'clamped' the rear end ;-)
  
Was this review helpful?
Very Nice 11 years ago
5out of 5stars
Chandler B.
Install was cake. Be sure to run a thread tap into the mounting holes before putting the bolts in. Especially if you live in a snowy climate where they salt the roads. The amount of rust and gunk i cleaned out of the holes was incredible. It'll make life a lot easier if you take the time to do this small extra step.
  
Was this review helpful?
must have 12 years ago
5out of 5stars
evan7121166558
couldnt believe what a difference these made. install was a breeze. i have an 05 sti on stock suspension and these bolts made the car feel alot more solid especially with the DCCD all the way back.also eliminated the reverse to 1st clunk. theyre only $30 just get em.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great Mod for the price. 12 years ago
5out of 5stars
FomaGT
I have a 2005 wrx Sti. If I hadn't experienced what a difference these make I would have never believed it. The car feels more planted and smoother through turns. I also feel like the rear end has less bounce to it. The balance of the car has also seemed to shift slightly toward over steer (when on throttle). As far as NVH I have not noticed an increase. I do however have coilovers and some group N bushings here and there so I already have a bit of racket. Overall I would recommend this mod especially if you do any type of performance driving ie AutoX, HPDE, Track days. For the price it is worth a try.
  
Was this review helpful?
Kartboy Subframe Lock Bolt 12 years ago
5out of 5stars
guest55c52e94caae52790b8c6d84
If you have aftermarket springs or coilovers, this is a must. I have an 06 STi with Teins, and after install of the springs, I have alot of bounce in the rear. This 32 dollar part solved all of that. The car sits better and handles twice as good. Easy install too, had to loosen up the four 17mm bolts for the subframe, but pretty much a screw in and play deal.
  
Was this review helpful?
Product images
Community Media
User Media for: Kartboy Rear Subframe Lockdown Bolts - Subaru Models (inc. 2002-2007 WRX/STi)