SET YOUR CAR
FREE SHIPPING
On orders over $200
TALK TO A PARTS EXPERT
RALLYSPORT GUARANTEE
100% Money Back on Select Parts

ACT Heavy Duty Performance Street Disc Clutch Kit

MODEL # ACTSB5-HDSS

$714.00


37 Reviews
4 out of 5 Stars
5 Stars
(23)
4 Stars
(1)
3 Stars
(7)
2 Stars
(2)
1 Stars
(4)
Customer Photos and Videos
ACT Heavy Duty Performance Street Disc Clutch Kit ( Part Number: SB5-HDSS)
ACT Heavy Duty Performance Street Disc Clutch Kit ( Part Number: SB5-HDSS)
ACT Heavy Duty Performance Street Disc Clutch Kit ( Part Number: SB5-HDSS)
ACT Heavy Duty Performance Street Disc Clutch Kit ( Part Number: SB5-HDSS)
Great Clutch  1 month ago
5out of 5stars

I had been reading reviews for months on so many different clutches from OEM to ACT to Exedy and so on for my 2013 WRX. I went stage 2 about 6 months ago and was about to hit 70k miles and knew it was time to upgrade. I decided on the ACT HDSS . Wow, am I glad I did. The clutch pedal is snappy, the clutch is nice and grabby, it's like a brand new car. I'm only into it about 200 miles, so it hasn't even settled yet and its awesome. I have a slight "chatter" in first gear but it's nice and smooth through the other 4. I'm really happy with my new ACT clutch and highly suggest it ... stop reading so many reviews and just pull the trigger on this clutch already. GP
  
Was this review helpful?
Act hdss clutch/streetlite flywheel 2 years ago
5out of 5stars

While the car at the moment is in a break in map(reduced throttle response, and lowered boost), the engagement had moved slightly up of the pedal. However, when it does engage, it does in a aggressive manner compared to stock clutch. I only have about 100 miles on the clutch, but i can already tell this clutch is a beast with more of a on/off personality. Even with the reduced throttle mapping on downshifts i only have to tap the throttle to get it to the right rpm. I have even over shot the downshift rpms by accident...cant imagine after its fully tuned. Slight chatter on in gear decceleration, but gives it a nice “race car” sound to it combined with the sti transmission/motor/pitchstop mounts. Will report after break in period and once fully tuned. So far, its a beast of a clutch with slightly higher engagement. I like!
  
Was this review helpful?
great product! 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

have around 5k miles on this clutch so far, replaced shredded OEM clutch(340lb/ft + drag strip = byebye clutch!), had the stock flywheel resurfaced instead of replacing it. Pedal feel is pretty much the same as stock but the initial bite is so much better. warning: you will stall your car many times while breaking in this clutch!
  
Was this review helpful?
Excellent for Daily Drivers 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Very manageable in street use, clamping force is amazing and superior to stock. Pedal stiffness is not much more over stock, break in period is crucial for this clutch to perform optimal. First 200 miles of city driving will take time to get used to but well worth it.
  
Was this review helpful?
ACT clutch  5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Good quality product. Fast shipping overall a good company
  
Was this review helpful?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Okay I'm going to try to be as informative as i can in this review for everyone out there. I have a 2006 wrx wagon (2.5L) when I went to get pro-tuned i achieved too much WTQ for the stock clutch. I bought this as the replacement. I have a shop install it and resurface my flywheel as they recommended that and not buying a new oem or street lite flywheel. The pedal feel didn't feel any heavier to me when pressing the clutch down, however it did feel different when slowly letting it out. Like it wants to throw your foot off of it. The first 1-50 miles were pretty brutal. As soon as I moved the pedal the clutch engaged, I stalled the first time i try to drive it. Scared the crap out of me was worried it was always going to be like that. It was also pretty freaking loud for the very beginning. Not over the exhaust too much but you could notice the difference in noise level from it. 50-300 miles. Started to feel great and like a normal clutch engagement. Noise wasn't too bad started to go down and disappear. 300-400 miles clutch engagement very smooth and awesome clamping force all together. Only noise when off the throttle and in gear. I don't know why it is, but it seems to be going down as the miles keep climbing. Overall i would highly recommend this clutch to anyone. Holds the power amazing. Clamping force is huge improvement over stock. Before it felt like i was driving with bald tires and just spinning tires the whole time. Now it actually feels amazing and like the power is going to the ground. ACT says 200-300 mile break in on organic, my tuner said 500. I'm still at 450 ish, did some racing last night but overall still babying the car around. Pros. Clamping force is amazing pretty quiet now. holds the power quality you know its there with act Cons price was a little over everything else, but still highly worth it.
  
Was this review helpful?
Best mod for your car  6 years ago
5out of 5stars

Just put the ACT street flywheel with this clutch and a Sti trans mount on my 06 wrx night and day difference best mod you can ever do for your car you may have to adjust the clutch pedal there is a lil rod above the gas pedal
  
Was this review helpful?
great investment 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

great investment; good feeling
  
Was this review helpful?
Solid 7 years ago
5out of 5stars

Finally got this kit installed and I'm finally happy with the clutch. With the way it feels and with the way it performs. Yes, there's some chatter on deceleration but I can deal with that a lot more than the stock clutch.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Nice 7 years ago
5out of 5stars

I bought and installed this in conjunction with the ACT Streetlite flywheel. So far I haven't gotten through the 2-300 mile break in period called for in the instructions, but I have noticed a quite large difference between this and the stock clutch (heavier pedal and improved bite). I performed the install myself with instructions I received from the customer service rep on this site. However this is no job for a weekend mechanic and I recommend getting it professionally installed if you are at all unsure about your abilities. The transmission is a pain to remove and install without help (at least on the 2009 WRX), so bring a friend or two. I couldn't be happier with RSD and ACT. Thanks.
  
Was this review helpful?
2009 wrx clutch and flywheel swap 7 years ago
5out of 5stars

Great product! Shipped fast. Easy install. Huge improvement over stock clutch and flywheel. It was a little tight when installed but broke in nicely about 300 miles.
  
Was this review helpful?
Out with the old in with the new  7 years ago
5out of 5stars

i got this replaced for my 06 wrx this year due to oem clutch failure after 100k,since i need a clutch replacement i thought might as well change the fly wheel, so i choose the act street lite after getting it put in by a professional transmission place, the breaking period starts heads up its not fun so you might have to burn it couple times to smooth the rough parts down. oh o forgot to mention that due to the lite weight flywheel you might have to rev abit higher.but after about 2000k plus it worked it self in perfectly. this clutch will take alot of abuse for on track or everyday driving thank you act for making a wonderful product hopefully you found this info helpful
  
Was this review helpful?
Legacy to WRX Swap 7 years ago
5out of 5stars

Legacy stock clutch wouldnt hold to new mods. Went with ACT clutch and flywheel swap. Great quality, easy install, great clutch engagement, firm but not to much. Clutch holds great and very streetable (no chatter).
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Phenominal 7 years ago
5out of 5stars

Stock like feel in peddle, but grabbing power is 10 fold. Night and day difference from stock setup. Great thing is if full face isn't enough 6 puck is interchangable for more torque capacity.
  
Was this review helpful?
09 Wrx Stage 2 7 years ago
5out of 5stars

Just got this installed. Paired with an ACT lightweight flywheel, wow what a difference. Definitely has more bite than stock so does take a little getting used to. Great upgrade
  
Was this review helpful?
Amazing!  7 years ago
5out of 5stars

This is an amazing clutch. Its a bit more stiff then stock but there is a big difference. At first it will take awhile for you to get adjusted to the clutch but give it sometime as it slowly starts breaking in... from 250 to 500 miles you will enjoy driving your car with this ACT HD clutch!
  
Was this review helpful?
08 rex 8 years ago
5out of 5stars

Had this put on for me. A bit stiffer than my stock clutch. Grabs great on my stock flywheel (had it resurfaced).
  
Was this review helpful?
Heavy duty awesome 8 years ago
5out of 5stars

My clutch started going out on my 334 wtq WRX and I wanted something that was great for the daily drive and would be strength upgrade for multiple track days a year and the occasional sprint. This clutch completely fit the bill. It's slightly heavier and engages lower and faster but otherwise feels like stock. When you romp on it, it slams down with authority. There's no more slipping between gears unless I want it. As a plus, the 3G WRX throw out bearing squeal that is common went away with the clutch and TOB replacement. I'm using resurfaced stock flywheel (2010 WRX) I love this setup and I'm very much looking forward to my first full track day in in 1 week.
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome! 8 years ago
5out of 5stars

This clutch is a beast. It bites back and it feels tough through the pedal. The thing that makes it more different than stock is yes it is heavier, but it doesn't want to be pressed in. So, that takes some getting used to, but it is awesome. Expect some stench when you first start to get used to it. It's a tricky one! I also have the street light flywheel with this.
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome, with a catch.  8 years ago
5out of 5stars

This clutch is great. I cannot speak for how it works with an OEM flywheel because I had the ACT StreetLite flywheel with it. The combo together worked very good and held what I threw at it. However, my WRX was a lot more prone to stalling and you really do need the extra ~500 rpm to get going. I found that after I put in a lightweight crank pulley (Grimmspeed) the WRX ran incredibly smoother with the clutch and fly. Stalling cut down a lot when driving around town. The shop that I used charged me just under $600 for complete installation. I say this because I shopped around and several mechanics quoted me for over $800.
  
Was this review helpful?
yeah baby!  8 years ago
5out of 5stars

my friend and i installed this today on my 2011 wrx. it only took us 5.5 hours to do everything! def. stiffer than stock. i still havent seen what it can do because i have to brake it in but it allready has made a day and night difference!!! :)
  
Was this review helpful?
2011 rex 9 years ago
5out of 5stars

I did the change out my self took only day and half. I love it, I use it for light track and everyday driver use works great.
  
Was this review helpful?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
 12 years ago
5out of 5stars

way better than the stock 06 wrx kind of stiff from stock street act fly wheel good combo with this cluch
  
Was this review helpful?
Got the pair 7 years ago
4out of 5stars

Did the whole ACT streetlite thing with clutch and flywheel. It takes some getting used to but now it grabs great. Took me over 800mi to breakin but I do mostly highway driving.
  
Was this review helpful?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Great while it lasted  3 years ago
3out of 5stars

I don't have much to say about this. Very happy with how it came, packaged great everything was there and everything was correct. Install was easy and everything worked right. It is a good clutch for the money (I guess). It worked great while it lasted. My car made 326hp/342tq on the dyno (from a reputable tuner on the east coast) with a new intercooler. Fast forward 8000 miles and my clutch is already slipping. Needless to say I was unimpressed.
  
Was this review helpful?
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Torques 4 years ago
3out of 5stars

It couldn't handle the horse torques but that is wheel torque so I did go over its rating after about 2 weeks of driving with that power it now slips under boost I guess I expected it though
  
Was this review helpful?
was good while it lasted  4 years ago
3out of 5stars

i have a 2014 WRX with a GTX3071r on e85 putting down about 450ftlb of torque to the wheels, ACT rates this clutch will hold up too 400ftlb at the crank! not the wheels! clutch only lasted at this power/torque level for two months, it was holding up well on my stock turbo e85 set up, but did not with the 30r. I would recommend this clutch for anyone staying around 350ftlb torque at the wheels anything more go for something different.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
So far I'm not happy 4 years ago
3out of 5stars

So far I'm not happy with this purchase. I'll continue the break in period and update my review, however here is a video of the problem I'm most frustrated with at the moment.
  
Was this review helpful?
ok while it lasted  5 years ago
3out of 5stars

While it lasted this was a good clutch, not great, but good. I hate the decel chatter every ACT clutch I've ever owned makes. Around 30k miles after installing this clutch, two of the fingers broke, causing the clutch to drag and no longer disengage. You can see by the pressure plate that this clutch hasn't been abused at all, and the friction disk is also still in good shape. Overall fairly disappointed with it.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great clutch but squeaks on 2011 wrx after 1 year still 5 years ago
3out of 5stars

there are many forum threads regarding the squeaking that this clutch makes to do with the throw out bearing or whatever. when i press my clutch down slightly the sound will stop. Otherwise at idle it sounds like my car has a loose belt and is rather embarrasing because it makes my car sound like a pos. this is still occurring after many many miles of driving over a year and a half. So just a heads up. Lastly on a good note it does its job and holds my stage 2 with equal headers and ewg without trouble. lots of daily beating and 1 trip to the 1/4 mile with about 20 launches lifetime and still good. Although after 1.5 years i can feel the pedal changing and soon it will be toast but for an organic disc it held up nice with little fade after many back to back 1/4 mile runs.
  
Was this review helpful?
Product images
Community Media
User Media for: ACT Heavy Duty Performance Street Disc Clutch Kit - Subaru WRX 2006-2017
User Media for: ACT Heavy Duty Performance Street Disc Clutch Kit - Subaru WRX 2006-2017
User Media for: ACT Heavy Duty Performance Street Disc Clutch Kit - Subaru WRX 2006-2017
User Media for: ACT Heavy Duty Performance Street Disc Clutch Kit - Subaru WRX 2006-2017