SET YOUR CAR
FREE SHIPPING
On orders over $100
TALK TO A PARTS EXPERT
RALLYSPORT GUARANTEE
100% Money Back on Select Parts

Kartboy Short Throw Shifter

MODEL # KARKB-20-STI

$150.00


43 Reviews
4.9 out of 5 Stars
5 Stars
(40)
4 Stars
(3)
3 Stars
(0)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Stars
(0)
Customer Photos and Videos
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter ( Part Number: KB-20-STI)
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter ( Part Number: KB-20-STI)
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter ( Part Number: KB-20-STI)
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter ( Part Number: KB-20-STI)
Huge difference  1 year ago
5out of 5stars

This Shifter makes a huge difference!! I dont have any of the winding noise everyone is writing about and the installation was super easy. This shifter is very smooth and does make the car feel a lot more responsive.
  
Was this review helpful?
Best mod ever 3 years ago
5out of 5stars

Seriously, I comtemplated doing this for so much longer than I should have. It is the best mod I have done on any car I've owned. From here on out, I will always install a short shifter on every car I own. Five stars on the install because I paid someone to do it for me. Great choice on my part. Oh, and do the bushings too!!!!
  
Was this review helpful?
Kartboy sti short shifter 3 years ago
5out of 5stars

Install wasn't too bad, I installed same time as I did the Cobb stiffer bushings and Perrin reverse lock out. Install wasn't bad. Just make sure you use the second zip tie underneath the car and move the reverse lockout cable away from the drive shaft. If not you will hear a ticking in 5 and 6 gear while driving. I tightened nice and snug. I placed bearing grease on the shifter where the Perrin reverse switch is, if not it won't slide back down to its original position. Also the shift knob will sit around an inch shorter. Feels great!
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome. 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

Just buy it. You won' regret it. I've had this shifter installed in my car for 2 years now and everyone that drives my car loves how it feels.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Feels great,but pain in the but install 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

the shifter is great shifts a lot shorter,and smoother...feels a lot better then stock and also shorter in height...only rec is to get the perrin lockout reverse lever because when you try to put the pin back in,it has some slack in it and makes some noise when shifting,cause the lockout was moving around and the perrin uses a screw and not a pin....
  
Was this review helpful?
Great as always 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

If your contemplating buying this, just do it. You will be happy. Just make sure you get the front and rear bushings to get the most out of your system.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great short shifter!! 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

Had a kart boy short shifter in my 11 WRX and loved it. So I bought this for my 15 STI and yet again I love it. Crisp shifts and a perfect reduction in throw. Kit comes with 2 zip ties. One to secure cable to actual shifter where you took the old zip tie off and one to secure the cable to the shifter stay underneath the car. Make sure you do this as if you don't the cable will rubb on the drive shaft which is no bueno. I'm very happy with this shifter. A+ highly recommend.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great quality as usual 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

Had a KB SS in my wrx when it was a 5spd. Swapped in an STI trans and knew this was a must. Perfect fitment and quality, the same as my 5spd version.
  
Was this review helpful?
More fun to drive 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

Nice upgrade but also purchase the front and rear bushings for a crisp firm and aggressive feel. NVH though is noticeable but for me I can manage the sound.
  
Was this review helpful?
10/10 Would bang 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

Great short throw, easy instal takes less than an hour.
  
Was this review helpful?
just right 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

This is a great short-throw shifter. It reduces the throw significantly from stock, but doesn't feel too short. Installed with new bushings (beatrush front, cobb rear), shifting feels much more aggressive, stiff and precise. Love this product.
  
Was this review helpful?
awesome with bushings 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Shifts way better get the bushings too!
  
Was this review helpful?
awesome get bushings 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

the shifter is awesome make sure u get the kartboy bushings too thats what makes the biggest difference.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great Product, Transforms The Gear Feel 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

The product was perfect as it arrived. I installed this without the bushings as I wanted less noise, but have driven a car with the bushings as well and definitely makes a difference. If you are ok with the whine, get the bushings; or if you want to keep the car quiet, just get the shifter. The length of throw as well as the firmness changes just with the shifter alone!
  
Was this review helpful?
great product. 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

easy install (14 sti), shifting feels much better. another solid product.
  
Was this review helpful?
Worth it. 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Not bad to install. Great feel. Great product
  
Was this review helpful?
super easy great feel 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

install was simple. i suggest installing shifter bushings while your under the car. really pleased with the feel and shifts.
  
Was this review helpful?
Kartboy STS 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Excellent product that was easy to install and really helps with quick shifting. When ordering a STS, make sure to get the bushings also. They too make a huge difference in feel.
  
Was this review helpful?
Perfect upgrade-  5 years ago
5out of 5stars

I purchased the Kartboy kit with the bushings (highly recommend doing all at once otherwise it's just not worth it). The product itself can be viewed a million times on here, but the difference between stock and Kartboys shifter.... day and night, literally. The overall product is far superior, including the bushings. Subaru apparently loves utilizing garbage. After this install, the slop surrounding my shifting was non existent. Side Note: I did follow a video on youtube to assist on install, and still made a rookie mistake. USE A 3/32 PUNCH on the roll pin for the shifter. I did not and spent 4 hrs with a buddy drilling out the OEM pin to salvage the reverse gear lock out cable. A new pin cost $.50 at the dealership, not a problem. Another mistake, the OEM knob, if tightened too much after the short throw shifter is installed will interfere with the ability to shift into reverse because of how much you are NOT able to pull up on the reverse gear lock-out. It is recommended having the cable adjusted or buying a new shift knob. The dealership did this for me at no cost, they're awesome here in Houston. That's my two cents, please learn from my mistakes.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Definitely worth your time. 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

06 Impreza STI. Bought the short shifter and bushings during the winter. Fast delivery was nice but had to wait for the snow to melt. Installed the shifter only the first weekend I had available, drove the car for a week. The shifter made a real noticeable difference, nice and short distances. The next weekend I installed the bushings. The bushings really gave it the solid precise shifts. This was a big gain for relatively little work and money spent.
  
Was this review helpful?
Absolute blast to drive now 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Install was cake as I followed the instructions on nukem384's YouTube video. Definitely noticeable improve in shifter speed and feel, but I already knew that since I had this same exact setup in my old Impreza 2.5RS coupe. Solid product! :)
  
Was this review helpful?
Totally worth it! 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Easy install, huge difference, worth every penny. Do the bushings too!
  
Was this review helpful?
Short shifter 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

This is a must upgrade for your STI, Very crisp and presice and also tall enough to move around ...got my vote...good job RSD...thanks
  
Was this review helpful?
Great choice 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

Really easy to install. Greatly improved daily driving capabilities. Added the bushings at the same time and once completed it was really a no brainer. If your waiting to get this. Stop now and just get it. You will definitely love it
  
Was this review helpful?
Easy install great improvement. 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

Shorter throw done with front / rear bushings . Ridiculously quick shifts saw nice addition from stock lengthy pattern . Great shipment RSD
  
Was this review helpful?
Worth every penny 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

I had this installed along with Kartboy front and rear bushings. Great improvement in shifting, also install was a breeze.
  
Was this review helpful?
Smile from ear to ear 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

If this product doesn't put a smile on your face then nothing will. The shortness and precision of each shift now that this is installed is fantastic. I highly recommend pairing this with the Front and Rear bushings for the total package.
  
Was this review helpful?
Sweet 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

Awesome upgrade over the stock unit. It makes shortens the height approx one inch and creates a much more crisp feeling. The install was super easy as well. Take the time to do the bushing upgrades at the same time for a huge huge improvement.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great Mod 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

Its one of the first things i done to my car. Install was a breeze and it really makes a difference. Great buy. Thanks again RSD
  
Was this review helpful?
one shifty fellow 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

Shorter throws result sometimes in missed shifts. Every now and then. Not always. Install was fairly easy and the shifter is lower but still at a managable height.
  
Was this review helpful?
Product images
Community Media
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter (Part Number: )
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter (Part Number: )
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter (Part Number: )
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter (Part Number: )