SET YOUR CAR
FREE SHIPPING
On Orders of 99+.
TALK TO A PARTS EXPERT
RALLYSPORT GUARANTEE
100% Money Back on Select Parts

Kartboy Short Throw Shifter

MODEL # KARKB-001-LEG

$130.00


134 Reviews
4.9 out of 5 Stars
5 Stars
(122)
4 Stars
(9)
3 Stars
(3)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Stars
(0)
Customer Photos and Videos
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter ( Part Number: KB-001-LEG)
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter ( Part Number: KB-001-LEG)
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter ( Part Number: KB-001-LEG)
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter ( Part Number: KB-001-LEG)
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter ( Part Number: KB-001-LEG)
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter ( Part Number: KB-001-LEG)
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter ( Part Number: KB-001-LEG)
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter ( Part Number: KB-001-LEG)
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter ( Part Number: KB-001-LEG)
Should be oem! 2 years ago
5out of 5stars
Spencer C
I was skeptical to change my shifter for a while, but finally I read some reviews that said this would tighten up shifts. I have to say after driving with the Kartboy short throw, I should've upgraded years ago. Shifts are much smoother and finally it doesn't feel like I'm using a broom handle in a bucket of rocks while shifting. If you're thinking about it definitely go with this one!
  
Was this review helpful?
Kartboy short throw 3 years ago
5out of 5stars
Monx9008
Kartboy made a great product, the shifts are definitely smoother and quicker, and installation was a breeze. I definitely recommend this shifter
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great Buy 5 years ago
5out of 5stars
COSubie95
Creates a nice short throw, feels great and crisp. Super easy install, just make sure to grease the lever where it rubs the rubber going down to the transmission.
  
Was this review helpful?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Perfect first mod for the car 5 years ago
5out of 5stars
'08Prezza
Install was relatively easy, removing the center console, taking out the old shifter (remember snap-ring pliers!!), greasing up the new shifter, installing, it was all a breeze. Basic tools will do the job just fine. Definitely an improved shifter feel, not sure if it improves 'performance' to a significant degree, but the throw is drastically reduced from the stock Impreza shifter and makes shifting that much more fun. Would 100% recommend to anyone on the fence.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great Purchase 5 years ago
5out of 5stars
Greener
Wish I bought this sooner. Not very mechanically inclined but the installed was extremely simple. Love the shorter throw.
  
Was this review helpful?
Kartboy Short throw shifter 6 years ago
5out of 5stars
Zackm161
Solid product which drastically improves the shifting feel.
  
Was this review helpful?
Short shifter  6 years ago
5out of 5stars
rodriguesm23
So I had a knock off brand of a short shifter. (not my fault car was bought that way) this shifter the throws do seem shorter and just feels like it belongs on the wrx. So just do yourself a huge favor buy this instead of a knock off.
  
Was this review helpful?
Much Shorter than OEM 6 years ago
5out of 5stars
PeytHott
I ordered this shifter because I've always felt the OEM shift length is too long. I watched many videos on YouTube and read countless NASIOC Write-Ups on how to install the shifter. I took everyone's advice and purchased a pair of snap ring pliers. Taking out the OEM shifter was a breeze and the pliers were a neccessity for taking the shifter out of the base. Taking the bushing out of the OEM shifter takes some patience, but it installs instantly in the Kartboy. Even with the snap ring pliers installing the snap ring back onto the white shifter base was a 10 minute, frustrating, cursing match. Once I got the snap ring back on reinstallation was a breeze. Shifts are louder, but noticeably shorter!
  
Was this review helpful?
Kart boy short shifter 6 years ago
5out of 5stars
marcjoseph03
Installed on my 2013 WRX, now changing gears is more crisp, precise and quicker, easy to install as long you have the right tools. 👍👍
  
Was this review helpful?
A must have for your Subie 6 years ago
5out of 5stars
Jesse
This was one of my first upgrades to my subaru and I am very happy with it. I added front and rear bushings separately and after i had driven around with just the short shifter installed. I would say that the short throw shifter makes the biggest impact on your shifting 'feel.' I don't see any need for an an adjustable shifter but i guess it would be kinda cool to play around with. This is just one of those upgrades that i've been happy with since day 1 and it has really improved my driving experience. Instal was pretty easy with the right tools. - Make sure you have the C clip pliers and some automotive grease handy. BUY IT
  
Was this review helpful?
2013 wrx 7 years ago
5out of 5stars
Ricky.vidrine71830352
A must buy! Took about 10 minutes to install.
  
Was this review helpful?
SHOULD'VE COME STANDARD 7 years ago
5out of 5stars
ALLWILDRIVE
I legitimately think that Subaru would sell more cars if it installed this shifter as standard on all of its cars. Installed on a 2011 WRX hatch. This thing has changed the whole driving experience and attitude of the car. Feels like a sports car instead of a 1 ton truck now. I am new to Subaru and have had cars that have shifted much better than this one. KARTBOY puts this car on par with the best of those. It eliminated one of the two weaknesses I felt this car had (the other being suspension). RSD was great also. Received product before the estimated arrival date. Install was so simple, it seemed as if Subaru knew the shifter sucked and that I was going to change it. If you can't tell yet, I'm very happy with this experience. Do not hesitate to buy.
  
Was this review helpful?
08 Subaru impreza wrx  7 years ago
5out of 5stars
Rickers22
Install was super easy. Youtube is your best friend on this install. Made a huge difference as far as throw went very noticeable from stock. Didn't shorten much from stock maybe 1/4"-1/2 " or so. The big difference is in the throw for me more solid shifts can actually feel it clicking into gear as before was pretty sloppy next is the bushings I'm sure that'll make it even tighter. Awesome product killer customer service can't ask for better.
  
Was this review helpful?
Very much worth the money  8 years ago
5out of 5stars
tfoles18
Install in my '14 hatch was very easy just make sure you get a decent set of snap ring pliers and buy the front/rear KB shifter bushing kit at the same time as you will need to have the shifter removed anyways. Shifts are much shorter and the bushings make it feel that much better. Very happy with the results and as always a pleasure to deal with RSD. Should be your first mod.
  
Was this review helpful?
Can't Go Wrong with Kartboy! 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
RJK0728
Had this shifter on my old 06 WRX and loved it. Just put one on my 14 and it makes such a difference!! Well worth the money.
  
Was this review helpful?
Kartboy STS 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
findtheline00124497
Install was pretty easy. I installed the COBB Delrin shift knob at the same time. overall shift feel is much improved and it sits lower in the shift console which looks and feels more sporty. I later installed the Kartboy front and rear bushings. The bushings made the transmission noise a little louder in 1st and 2nd but not bad. overall great products by Kartboy. Tip for the rear bushing. remove the heat shield. you'll need the extra room to get the bolts in.
  
Was this review helpful?
Easy as easy could be... 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
Jardo
Such an easy install and makes a world of difference, gearbox feels nice and tight. Shifts are short, feels like a real race car now...
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
WAY BETTER THAN COBB  8 years ago
5out of 5stars
wrxcory
No loud tranny noise like you get with cobbs should have bought this from the beggining !
  
Was this review helpful?
Simple and cost effective upgrade 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
cramerbrenton50155
Installed this on my 2013 WRX. What a difference! The throws are significantly shorter and the knob height is perfect. Be sure to purchase good set of snap pliers to remove the snap ring. The cheaper pliers tend to twist, making it difficult to remove the ring. With spending a fair amount of time removing the ring with my cheap set of pliers, install still only took approximately 30 minutes.
  
Was this review helpful?
Kartboy SS 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
awdturbowrx
Absolutely love everything about this on my 2010 WRX. Was the first mod i did on it!
  
Was this review helpful?
A must get!! 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
adrianwalkosz72731
Wayy better than the stock wrx shifter. Throws are noticeably shorter. Pair it up with the front and rear shifter bushings and all slopiness is gone!
  
Was this review helpful?
STI shorty to Kartboy Shorty 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
aking450802
My WRX came with the STI short throw option, which was't bad to begin with. I bought the kartboy short throw lever and you could tell the throw was a little bit shorter, though not very much. What was really nice about this lever was it's height. It was a lot shorter. I highly recommend this shift lever. When combined with the Kartboy front and rear bushing, it's an all around good system... Not hurst in a Camaro or Mustang good... but still good.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great shifter 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
NowDatsG
This is my 1st short throw ever, and I immediately loved the difference in the way it felt. So crisp and the shorter time to the next gear is evident. 08 wrx
  
Was this review helpful?
2.5i 2010 Impreza 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
NeilStrohan
easy install, stiff when you first put it in but it loosens up nicely over time. something to get used to compared to the stock shifter, but absolutely love it. definitely a great investment. great product quality.
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome  8 years ago
5out of 5stars
MikeR2013
Love it, shifts smooth and fast. Great product.
  
Was this review helpful?
Changes the driving experience 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
sapodelmar96499
Rally Sport Direct shipped the part quickly. Easy install on 2013 Subaru Impreza hatch, totally changed the driving experience. Shifts are shorter and firmer, took car to drive the Blue Ridge Parkway and Tail of the Dragon, awesome fun. Single best thing in this price range to improve your daily driving experience with the new Impreza.
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
Patrick_Sc
Really can feel the gears now and the shorter shift feels right. Must have
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Nice difference, higher quality than Cobb. 9 years ago
5out of 5stars
Hbrakes86241
I tried the Cobb adjustable STS first and it was junk, this thing though.. this thing is solid.
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome 9 years ago
5out of 5stars
Chris Ngo
Adding another 5/5 rating to this awesome item from Kartboy. Install was easy on my 2011 WRX. The feel now is so precise.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2008 WRX 9 years ago
5out of 5stars
Allabouttheboost
Bought this for my '08 install was pretty easy, reduced the play by ALOT. If you are thinking about it..Get it!
  
Was this review helpful?
Product images
Community Media
User Media for: Kartboy Short Throw Shifter - Subaru Models (inc. 2008-2014 WRX / 2006-2009 Legacy GT / 2006-2008 Forester XT)
User Media for: Kartboy Short Throw Shifter - Subaru Models (inc. 2008-2014 WRX / 2006-2009 Legacy GT / 2006-2008 Forester XT)
User Media for: Kartboy Short Throw Shifter - Subaru Models (inc. 2008-2014 WRX / 2006-2009 Legacy GT / 2006-2008 Forester XT)
User Media for: Kartboy Short Throw Shifter - Subaru Models (inc. 2008-2014 WRX / 2006-2009 Legacy GT / 2006-2008 Forester XT)
User Media for: Kartboy Short Throw Shifter - Subaru Models (inc. 2008-2014 WRX / 2006-2009 Legacy GT / 2006-2008 Forester XT)
User Media for: Kartboy Short Throw Shifter - Subaru Models (inc. 2008-2014 WRX / 2006-2009 Legacy GT / 2006-2008 Forester XT)
User Media for: Kartboy Short Throw Shifter - Subaru Models (inc. 2008-2014 WRX / 2006-2009 Legacy GT / 2006-2008 Forester XT)
User Media for: Kartboy Short Throw Shifter - Subaru Models (inc. 2008-2014 WRX / 2006-2009 Legacy GT / 2006-2008 Forester XT)
User Media for: Kartboy Short Throw Shifter - Subaru Models (inc. 2008-2014 WRX / 2006-2009 Legacy GT / 2006-2008 Forester XT)