SET YOUR CAR
FREE SHIPPING
On Orders of 99+.
TALK TO A PARTS EXPERT
RALLYSPORT GUARANTEE
100% Money Back on Select Parts

Kartboy Short Throw Shifter

MODEL # KARKB-001

$100.00


11 Reviews
4.9 out of 5 Stars
5 Stars
(10)
4 Stars
(1)
3 Stars
(0)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Stars
(0)
Customer Photos and Videos
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter ( Part Number: KB-001)
Kartboy Short Throw Shifter ( Part Number: KB-001)
Nice shifter with secondary benefit 2 years ago
5out of 5stars
98Outback
I installed this short shifter on my 98 Outback for giggles and grins. The stock shifter seemed taller than it really ought to be and this provides a quicker throw. After installing this shifter I found it has a most excellent secondary benefit. The 98 outback has the cup holders that pull out of the dash right above the radio. (see photo, after installation of short shifter) When a coffee cup is in this holder, with the 1-2 inch taller stock shifter, it was mildly bothersome to get to the radio buttons, because the clearance between the stock shifter and the bottom of the coffee cup . The reduced height of the short shifter makes it much easier to poke the radio buttons. I can now drink coffee the way in to work and manipulate the radio with ease. It's the little things. Highly recommend this product. As for installation: I pulled the snap ring off the bottom of the shift bushing and pulled the whole socket this shifter fits into out of the car. I tried hammering it into the socket first and just got grease splatters. If you pull the socket out it just pops right in. Be very careful not to warp that snap ring as it may fall off and you will be pulling the console apart in the middle of the road.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
love the feel and easy install 3 years ago
5out of 5stars
darkskindave
fit right in my 04 wrx with the bronze/gold STI shifter option
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2003 WRX  5 years ago
5out of 5stars
dljackson907
I own a 2003 WRX that had the STI shifter option (gold plated shifter). I can confirm that this is the correct fitment for bugeye models that have the gold shifter. The throws were noticeably shorter after I first installed it. Getting the old shifter out is the easy part, but putting this one in took a few good whacks of a rubber mallet. There really isn't much more to it then that! It's a solid shifter!
  
Was this review helpful?
Great shifting, awesome quality. 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
Brian B
The product looks very professionally made. Install in my '98 Legacy GT was a breeze. 2 Screws to get the center console started, unscrew the shift knob, and then one bolt/nut . 10 minutes tops. One thing I didn't like are instructions from every vendor basically saying be forceful..but not using a hammer, to get the ball back in the socket. Just get a big hammer, a 2x4 to sit on top of the threads (no shift knob), and hit it once or twice real good. It'll seat. Normal hammer wasn't doing it for me. I just got done driving for about 30 minutes after swapping it and i'm VERY pleased. Noticeably better shifting. I highly recommend the swap.
  
Was this review helpful?
Top Quality Product! 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
tempemail55ba55c1caae52c9038b5aff
Installed this on my 2004 WRX (factory short shift option, bronze shift lever) and I am amazed with how big of a difference this makes in throw distance! 1 drop in height from the factory, but still looks and feels great!
  
Was this review helpful?
Short Shifter 9 years ago
5out of 5stars
Leonel1638851
ordered this short shifter for my Subaru RS and i have to say its one of the best investments i have ever done
  
Was this review helpful?
KartBoy Short Throw 10 years ago
5out of 5stars
steadyspoolin67
this is definitely a non-regretable buy, fast install, took me like 30 mins, the throw is INCREDIBLE, my OE shifter throw i measured at about a 4 throw, with this kartboy its under 2. Definitely hold you over for a little. now i just need to buy bushings and im set.
  
Was this review helpful?
Nice shifter 10 years ago
5out of 5stars
velocityWRX
The throw has been greatly reduced between the gears of 2-3 and 4-5. I installed this on my 03 WRX that came with the OEM short shifter package and was super easy. Took me about 10mins to do everything.
  
Was this review helpful?
short throw means short! 11 years ago
5out of 5stars
kimberlysoccer1456667
I installed this on my 01 RS. I cant believe how short and crisp the shifts are after the install. Love this shifter, along with the cobb shift knob works awesome!
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
awsome shifts 12 years ago
5out of 5stars
dustertech200014410
this shifter with the bushings make amazing shifts, shift length reduced alot, simple install, use grease around ball and clean out plastic retainer that ball head goes in.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2002-2003 WRX STI Shifter Option look no further 3 years ago
4out of 5stars
Kellen Morse
I would give this a 5/5 but it doesn't come with any instructions and it doesn't come prelubed or containing any lbe in the box. But once lubed and correctly installed, the shifter provided a much quicker throw and makes the gearbox feel more comfortable to drive because it dosen't feel like I'm rowing a boat going from a stop, to be fair I have a JDM gearbox so my ratios are tighter.
  
Was this review helpful?
Product images
Community Media
User Media for: Kartboy Short Throw Shifter - Subaru Models (inc. 1998-2001 Impreza 2.5RS)
User Media for: Kartboy Short Throw Shifter - Subaru Models (inc. 1998-2001 Impreza 2.5RS)