SET YOUR CAR
FREE SHIPPING
On Orders of 99+.
TALK TO A PARTS EXPERT
RALLYSPORT GUARANTEE
100% Money Back on Select Parts

K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System

MODEL # KAN69-8001TWR

$479.99


25 Reviews
4.8 out of 5 Stars
5 Stars
(21)
4 Stars
(3)
3 Stars
(1)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Stars
(0)
Customer Photos and Videos
K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System ( Part Number: 69-8001TWR)
K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System ( Part Number: 69-8001TWR)
K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System ( Part Number: 69-8001TWR)
K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System ( Part Number: 69-8001TWR)
K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System ( Part Number: 69-8001TWR)
K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System ( Part Number: 69-8001TWR)
Must have product 4 years ago
5out of 5stars
Anders
just installed my intake and it was just like excepted, top quality, looks great, sounds awesome and it looks like it was some hp gains too just waiting on my ETS tmic for my 04 sti and a tune.
  
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic Product 7 years ago
5out of 5stars
Sublime LBC
I would first like to recommend a tune with any aftermarket that changes your Air to Fuel ratio. I noticed after installation, before tuning, it will cause a bit of an issue remaining stoichiometric. After tuning, its a dream. Best short ram available for the money next to Cosworth products.
  
Was this review helpful?
The only 😉 short ram I've enjoyed 7 years ago
5out of 5stars
jenny
Everything you'd expect from K&N. Clear instructions, very easy install, looks slick, great intake sound, sweet performance. I wish my other parts offered a CARB sticker to defend against the occasional uptight emissions tech. As usual, a touch on the pricey side, but mostly worth it. Other than because K&N filters are top shelf, I like how the heat shield covers what it should, has gaskets between everything, yet leaves the filter visible when the hood's up. One thing I don't like is the coolant lines bracket you remove from the stock air box doesn't sit perfectly on this heat shield so the lines don't seat in the bracket totally solid. They haven't dislodged, so it's just an aesthetic annoyance, but better design is in order there.
  
Was this review helpful?
Perfect Fit 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
John M
Installation was a breeze. Really makes the engine pop. I had a HKS short ram and the foam fell apart and contaminated my MAF sensor. So I decided to go with the K&N because of the warranty. I noticed a difference in sound, turbo and bypass air is more amplified. All in all, solid product. 5 thumbs up.
  
Was this review helpful?
2002 sti intake 8 years ago
5out of 5stars
2002sti
nice product, easy install. don't know about hp gain. turbo spool up sound is awesome thanks for the fast shipping rsd
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome 9 years ago
5out of 5stars
Projectwrx07
Best intake I've bought to date!!! Perfect out of the box fit
  
Was this review helpful?
K&N intake 10 years ago
5out of 5stars
Daverave
Shipped fast to Australia (5 days) fits quick , clean and easy. You make it too easy Rallysportdirect.
  
Was this review helpful?
K&N 10 years ago
5out of 5stars
Rory123
Great/Quality product! I've had the short ram intake on for about 3 months now and haven't had a problem, recommend a tune to get the full potential. Looks great makes the ugly Subaru engine bay look a lot steezier;)
  
Was this review helpful?
Love it 10 years ago
5out of 5stars
dustin24392
Just recieved this yesterday afternoon 12/20/2012, awesome addition to the car. Took about 25 minutes to install no issues what so ever. The instructions it came with explained everything but you can tell where the pieces go just by looking under your hood. I drove all night and morning with no music, just vibing on the sound of the ram air. Love it! Great addition to the car, a must buy!
  
Was this review helpful?
air intake K&N 10 years ago
5out of 5stars
black subru
wooow! now i like the performance of my subaru it performs very nice/ it respond as i want. For sure this parts is nice and i like it thanks to rallysport.
  
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Intake 11 years ago
5out of 5stars
bllseye
Installation took 20-30 minutes. Looks great. Sounds great. Fantastic beginner bolt on mod that makes a difference in your performance.
  
Was this review helpful?
k&n typhoon for 2004 wrx 11 years ago
5out of 5stars
slatanic066666434
Still can't get enough of the sound. Install would have been easier and half time but for a stubborn bolt way down in engine bay. Super bad-ass after that. Added on cobb accessport after trial runs and have been loving it since!
  
Was this review helpful?
Great intake! 11 years ago
5out of 5stars
Kirill C.
As everyone knows, K&N makes great products. And this is no exception. A very complete kit that includes all hardware required, and a very detailed install instructions. Install took a bit under a hour and was done using simple tools. The intake itself looks very nice under the hood with the wrinkle red finish, and the carbon cap on the filter element itself. Power gains where quite noticeable right from the get go all across the power band, the turbo seems to hold boost a little better at higher RPM along with having a nice increase in TQ at lower and the car is more eager to just get going. Plus the increase in sound is always a plus!
  
Was this review helpful?
2006BajaTurbo 11 years ago
5out of 5stars
pipollo1072130
Fit good on my 06 baja turbo but had to cut the heat shield and the air box thing.
  
Was this review helpful?
K&N Intake 11 years ago
5out of 5stars
buffness87
LOVE this upgrade. Two thumbs up for the product and RSD for their service!
  
Was this review helpful?
the best 11 years ago
5out of 5stars
greddy_racing
installtion took 20 mins. looks great. sounds great. you can feel the hp gain. no CEL. best short ram intake out there.
  
Was this review helpful?
Sounds Sick! 12 years ago
5out of 5stars
thunderburn
Installed the short ram just about a month ago on my 2005 WRX sti. Installation not too complicated. You may need to lubricate the O ring of the air flow sensor to make sure its on perfectly. Great sound and no check engine lights.
  
Was this review helpful?
Excellent 12 years ago
5out of 5stars
02insecturbo
Performance, and sound wise. Excellent
  
Was this review helpful?
Great! 12 years ago
5out of 5stars
Irwin A.
I recently installed this product and I am extremely happy with the results. Sounds great, the instructions were very useful, and it looks good on the engine bay! I also notice increased responsiveness when I accelerate.
  
Was this review helpful?
 14 years ago
5out of 5stars
mjfubar101
Intake looks great with the wrinkle red finish install is easy with great instructions fitment is perfect and great sound from the intake. Overall a great product I would recommend.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
 16 years ago
5out of 5stars
brodyhamblin
This intake really cleaned up my engine bay. It stays cool by using the heat shield. has the wrinkle red finish to match the sti intake manifold. Loud and also will work with a FMIC if the heat shield is removed.
  
Was this review helpful?
Tough assembly and fitment but worth it 6 months ago
4out of 5stars
jaykaksoy
This thing was an absolute pain in the neck to install with my Perrin turbo inlet. Assembly can be tricky with the heat shield going between the filter and hose, bad design imo. Heat shield bottom slot didn't align with the hole in the body so i just threw some of the included rubber guarding on it to prevent a rattle. Thing sounds nuts tho, really prominent turbo sounds and induction noise.
  
Was this review helpful?
Quality 9 years ago
4out of 5stars
Wicked_STI
Been having this intake for about 5k miles now and its still doing its job. Quality is good coming from K&N of course but it'll probably set off a lean system depending what you running with. I'd recommend getting it tuned if planning on getting this and to get its full potential!
  
Was this review helpful?
 16 years ago
4out of 5stars
RSD Customer
Excellent product. Easy and clear instructions made this piece fit like a glove. You can really hear the motor suck in the air when you put your foot into it. Nice and clean install.
  
Was this review helpful?
Good Product 10 years ago
3out of 5stars
SubieCRazy05sti
Well I bought this item one of the first little mods beside the AP and when i installed it and ran some pulls i got a CEL. They say you dont need a tune but in fact you do. Since we already run lean and the AP makes it run even more leaner I had WAY to much air for air/fuel ratio. After getting a tune it was much better and couldnt sound any better!! And of course RSD had AMAZING shipping.
  
Was this review helpful?
Product images
Community Media
User Media for: K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System - Subaru WRX/STI 2002-2007
User Media for: K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System - Subaru WRX/STI 2002-2007
User Media for: K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System - Subaru WRX/STI 2002-2007
User Media for: K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System - Subaru WRX/STI 2002-2007
User Media for: K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System - Subaru WRX/STI 2002-2007
User Media for: K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System - Subaru WRX/STI 2002-2007