SET YOUR CAR
FREE SHIPPING
On orders over $200
TALK TO A PARTS EXPERT
RALLYSPORT GUARANTEE
100% Money Back on Select Parts

K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System

MODEL # KAN69-8001TWR

$267.99


24 Reviews
4.8 out of 5 Stars
5 Stars
(21)
4 Stars
(2)
3 Stars
(1)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Stars
(0)
Customer Photos and Videos
K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System ( Part Number: 69-8001TWR)
K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System ( Part Number: 69-8001TWR)
K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System ( Part Number: 69-8001TWR)
K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System ( Part Number: 69-8001TWR)
K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System ( Part Number: 69-8001TWR)
K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System ( Part Number: 69-8001TWR)
Must have product 5 months ago
5out of 5stars

just installed my intake and it was just like excepted, top quality, looks great, sounds awesome and it looks like it was some hp gains too just waiting on my ETS tmic for my 04 sti and a tune.
  
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic Product 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

I would first like to recommend a tune with any aftermarket that changes your Air to Fuel ratio. I noticed after installation, before tuning, it will cause a bit of an issue remaining stoichiometric. After tuning, its a dream. Best short ram available for the money next to Cosworth products.
  
Was this review helpful?
The only 😉 short ram I've enjoyed 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

Everything you'd expect from K&N. Clear instructions, very easy install, looks slick, great intake sound, sweet performance. I wish my other parts offered a CARB sticker to defend against the occasional uptight emissions tech. As usual, a touch on the pricey side, but mostly worth it. Other than because K&N filters are top shelf, I like how the heat shield covers what it should, has gaskets between everything, yet leaves the filter visible when the hood's up. One thing I don't like is the coolant lines bracket you remove from the stock air box doesn't sit perfectly on this heat shield so the lines don't seat in the bracket totally solid. They haven't dislodged, so it's just an aesthetic annoyance, but better design is in order there.
  
Was this review helpful?
Perfect Fit 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Installation was a breeze. Really makes the engine pop. I had a HKS short ram and the foam fell apart and contaminated my MAF sensor. So I decided to go with the K&N because of the warranty. I noticed a difference in sound, turbo and bypass air is more amplified. All in all, solid product. 5 thumbs up.
  
Was this review helpful?
2002 sti intake 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

nice product, easy install. don't know about hp gain. turbo spool up sound is awesome thanks for the fast shipping rsd
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

Best intake I've bought to date!!! Perfect out of the box fit
  
Was this review helpful?
K&N intake 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

Shipped fast to Australia (5 days) fits quick , clean and easy. You make it too easy Rallysportdirect.
  
Was this review helpful?
K&N 7 years ago
5out of 5stars

Great/Quality product! I've had the short ram intake on for about 3 months now and haven't had a problem, recommend a tune to get the full potential. Looks great makes the ugly Subaru engine bay look a lot steezier;)
  
Was this review helpful?
Love it 7 years ago
5out of 5stars

Just recieved this yesterday afternoon 12/20/2012, awesome addition to the car. Took about 25 minutes to install no issues what so ever. The instructions it came with explained everything but you can tell where the pieces go just by looking under your hood. I drove all night and morning with no music, just vibing on the sound of the ram air. Love it! Great addition to the car, a must buy!
  
Was this review helpful?
air intake K&N 7 years ago
5out of 5stars

wooow! now i like the performance of my subaru it performs very nice/ it respond as i want. For sure this parts is nice and i like it thanks to rallysport.
  
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Intake 7 years ago
5out of 5stars

Installation took 20-30 minutes. Looks great. Sounds great. Fantastic beginner bolt on mod that makes a difference in your performance.
  
Was this review helpful?
k&n typhoon for 2004 wrx 8 years ago
5out of 5stars

Still can't get enough of the sound. Install would have been easier and half time but for a stubborn bolt way down in engine bay. Super bad-ass after that. Added on cobb accessport after trial runs and have been loving it since!
  
Was this review helpful?
Great intake! 8 years ago
5out of 5stars

As everyone knows, K&N makes great products. And this is no exception. A very complete kit that includes all hardware required, and a very detailed install instructions. Install took a bit under a hour and was done using simple tools. The intake itself looks very nice under the hood with the wrinkle red finish, and the carbon cap on the filter element itself. Power gains where quite noticeable right from the get go all across the power band, the turbo seems to hold boost a little better at higher RPM along with having a nice increase in TQ at lower and the car is more eager to just get going. Plus the increase in sound is always a plus!
  
Was this review helpful?
2006BajaTurbo 8 years ago
5out of 5stars

Fit good on my 06 baja turbo but had to cut the heat shield and the air box thing.
  
Was this review helpful?
K&N Intake 8 years ago
5out of 5stars

LOVE this upgrade. Two thumbs up for the product and RSD for their service!
  
Was this review helpful?
the best 8 years ago
5out of 5stars

installtion took 20 mins. looks great. sounds great. you can feel the hp gain. no CEL. best short ram intake out there.
  
Was this review helpful?
Sounds Sick! 8 years ago
5out of 5stars

Installed the short ram just about a month ago on my 2005 WRX sti. Installation not too complicated. You may need to lubricate the O ring of the air flow sensor to make sure its on perfectly. Great sound and no check engine lights.
  
Was this review helpful?
Excellent 8 years ago
5out of 5stars

Performance, and sound wise. Excellent
  
Was this review helpful?
Great! 9 years ago
5out of 5stars

I recently installed this product and I am extremely happy with the results. Sounds great, the instructions were very useful, and it looks good on the engine bay! I also notice increased responsiveness when I accelerate.
  
Was this review helpful?
 11 years ago
5out of 5stars

Intake looks great with the wrinkle red finish install is easy with great instructions fitment is perfect and great sound from the intake. Overall a great product I would recommend.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
 13 years ago
5out of 5stars

This intake really cleaned up my engine bay. It stays cool by using the heat shield. has the wrinkle red finish to match the sti intake manifold. Loud and also will work with a FMIC if the heat shield is removed.
  
Was this review helpful?
Quality 6 years ago
4out of 5stars

Been having this intake for about 5k miles now and its still doing its job. Quality is good coming from K&N of course but it'll probably set off a lean system depending what you running with. I'd recommend getting it tuned if planning on getting this and to get its full potential!
  
Was this review helpful?
 13 years ago
4out of 5stars

Excellent product. Easy and clear instructions made this piece fit like a glove. You can really hear the motor suck in the air when you put your foot into it. Nice and clean install.
  
Was this review helpful?
Good Product 7 years ago
3out of 5stars

Well I bought this item one of the first little mods beside the AP and when i installed it and ran some pulls i got a CEL. They say you dont need a tune but in fact you do. Since we already run lean and the AP makes it run even more leaner I had WAY to much air for air/fuel ratio. After getting a tune it was much better and couldnt sound any better!! And of course RSD had AMAZING shipping.
  
Was this review helpful?
Product images
Community Media
User Media for: K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System - Subaru WRX/STI 2002-2007
User Media for: K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System - Subaru WRX/STI 2002-2007
User Media for: K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System - Subaru WRX/STI 2002-2007
User Media for: K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System - Subaru WRX/STI 2002-2007
User Media for: K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System - Subaru WRX/STI 2002-2007
User Media for: K&N Typhoon Short Ram Air Intake System - Subaru WRX/STI 2002-2007