SET YOUR CAR
FREE SHIPPING
On orders over $100
TALK TO A PARTS EXPERT
RALLYSPORT GUARANTEE
100% Money Back on Select Parts

Kartboy Rear Shifter Bushing

MODEL # KARKB-003-REAR

$35.00


124 Reviews
4.7 out of 5 Stars
5 Stars
(100)
4 Stars
(14)
3 Stars
(6)
2 Stars
(3)
1 Stars
(1)
Customer Photos and Videos
Kartboy Rear Shifter Bushing ( Part Number: KB-003-REAR)
Kartboy Rear Shifter Bushing ( Part Number: KB-003-REAR)
Kartboy Rear Shifter Bushing ( Part Number: KB-003-REAR)
Kartboy Rear Shifter Bushing ( Part Number: KB-003-REAR)
Kartboy Rear Shifter Bushing 2 years ago
5out of 5stars

definitely improved shift feel
  
Was this review helpful?
Great cheap improvement, But difficult to line up  3 years ago
5out of 5stars

Great quality, Very sturdy So I installed all at once. (recommend doing all these at once) Whiteline Rear Diff Positive Power Kit Inserts Whiteline Gearbox Positive Shift Kit Beatrush Shifter Link Bushings Kartboy Rear Shifter Bushing Perrin Subframe Lockdown Bushings Hard for me to differentiate which product did what, But MAN, I can tell the difference, With a 2011 Fully built WRX (EJ257 block, 380HP) and no suspension upgrades, These products were amazing. PROS - Rear end is muuuch tighter/sticks to the road during turns and taking off from stop - Acceleration is improved greatly, and feels like you have more power - Feels like power is going into the ground more - Very little drive line shock - Shifting is solid - went from feeling like a semi truck, to a Indy Super Race car CONS The rear shiftier bushing, was hard to line up with the existing holes (turn a little by little on each side)
  
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic Product! 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

A must have for any car! Installed this on my 2004 WRX and made the shift feel so much better! Make sure to get the front bushings with this to get the best shift feel possible!
  
Was this review helpful?
Feels Great 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

Installed these on my 2008 Sti wagon with front bushings and kartboy short throw shifter. Shifting feels great, more responsive crisp shifts with less spongyness.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great product 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

Product is great install was pretty easy but I didn't notice a difference
  
Was this review helpful?
Great Improvement 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

Bought this along with the Kartboy short shifter. Made shifting much tighter and I love the new feel of it. It was a bit of a pain to install (one bolt goes in easy, but then the other one was a bit of a pain) but once I got it installed, it's worked wonderfully. Would definitely recommend, especially in combination with short shifter and bushings.
  
Was this review helpful?
Must get!  5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Awesome product by Kartboy again. Pair this up with the short shifter and front bushing and shifting will be like night and day!!
  
Was this review helpful?
Worth it! 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

These bushings are worth the effort. The rear bushing can be a pain to install. I believe they messed up there dimensions and tolerances when they manufactured the bushing I bought. Tough to start threading second bolt on rear bushing. Still, all in all, it is worth it. Definitely more notchy feeling. Still has a little slop but I think that is due to the pivot point ball bushing. No getting around that. You need this.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great product but a tricky install. 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

I have had this sitting on my shelf for a year. Had a kid and no time to install it... Until yesterday. As for the bushing. Much improved shifter feel over stock and a higher quality assembly. Some tips for the install. Remove the bolts for the transmission support and let it sag a little giving you more room to work. Make sure you do not strip the threads on the car taking out the old bolts. My 20 min install turned into a 2 hr install when I had to rethread the hole on the right hand side. Lube this sucker up good and use some blue locktite on the new bolts.
  
Was this review helpful?
Feels Good, Install wasn't HARD 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Not sure why all these people are having a hard time installing it lol All you have to do is put one bolt in just BARELY then work the other side in and go back and forth very very slowly. It will go in!! Took me about 30 mins to install from start to finish. Feels good but I honestly didn't notice THAT much of a difference after the front and rear bushings were installed. I'm going to get the Kartboy STS next (I have the stock STI sts) and see how that feels :)
  
Was this review helpful?
Great but install a little harder 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

This was a great product huge improvement install was a little more difficult than the front but well worth the time and effort
  
Was this review helpful?
4 Months installed- AWESOME!!!!! 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Its everything i ever wanted! I actually enjoy the louder shifting it provides and every shift is crisp and confident. Pair this with the front bushing and youll have a nasty sounding shifter!! I cant remember ever having any cross threading issues with my install unlike some of the reported reviews i glanced at. From what i remember it was relatively easy and i got it installed in under an hour. Pick one of these up along with the front bushing and enjoy yourself.
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome. 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Worth it. feels ten times better. Installed with the shifter bushings, probably one of the best mods you can do for the price.
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Adding another 5/5 rating to this awesome item from Kartboy. Install was easy on my 2011 WRX. The feel now is so precise.
  
Was this review helpful?
Love the new feel! 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

As has been said above, shifts are much more smooth and crisp, almost the British version of potato chips! Definitely increased cabin noise, but that was to be expected. If you don't like how it sounds, you're a baddie for buying them and you should feel bad. *****
  
Was this review helpful?
Kartboy Rear Shifter Bushing Subaru  5 years ago
5out of 5stars

This Item is worth the price because it make the shifter feel much solid and smooth..Get it if you plan doing Mods to your Subaru
  
Was this review helpful?
MUST HAVE! 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Iv had these in all three of my Subaru's, it is a must have if you want a firmer/ smoother shift with out the slop Pair this with the Front bushing. Can be a pain to install with big hands because it is above the down pipe and drive shaft but it pretty straight forward.
  
Was this review helpful?
 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

nice improvement, shifting is much more crisp. did have to use a prybar to line bolts up to holes, not a huge problem but not too fun. also use lube to slide the rod back into the hole
  
Was this review helpful?
Smoothness! 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Great product. Noticeable difference with shifting. I would recommend replacing all bushings with this. Simple install.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great product! 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Solid feel. Shifts feel way better! Install was a little painful, but just gotta be patient and it'll work out. Nothing much more to say!
  
Was this review helpful?
Good Improvement! 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

This coupled with the front shift bushings makes a great improvement and shifting. It is very click and you definitely know when it goes into gear. I got these to decrease slop, but these have nothing to do with slop and it did not decrease slop at all. Upon research, my slop had to do where the shifter linkage meets the transmission at the knuckle. There are bushing there that get worn down causing slop (side to side motion). Prepare to get frustrated installing this part. The holes do not line up correctly and you will likely crossthread. Best thing to do is heat the part up so it becomes more plyable. I have no idea how I eventually got it on. 3 hours of fighting was not worth the minimal change. Also, I have noticed a bit more transmission noise and whine but it is not detrimental.
  
Was this review helpful?
Excellent upgrade 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Installed these bushings along with the Kartboy shift link bushings, TWM short-throw shifter, and Torque Solution transmission mount and positive shift kit. It's hard to say which one contributed the most to the huge grin I now sport while driving, but all of them combined make for a fantastic driving experience. Shifts are now so crisp and intentional, for lack of a better word, not to mention gratifying. It's like the difference between typing on a virtual, touch-screen keyboard and typing on a good gaming keyboard: the difference in feedback, and thus in connection with the car, is night-and-day. With automatic transmissions now achieving similar fuel economy to manuals and dual-clutch transmissions beating manuals in terms of speed and performance, the experience is one of the few reasons left to drive a manual. Don't lessen that experience with those spongy stock bushings.
  
Was this review helpful?
works like a charm 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

I have installed these in 2 of my subaru's. both experienced much more crisp shifting. would recommend, huge upgrade from stock.
  
Was this review helpful?
Love the result, hated the install on 2011 STi 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Along with the front bushing, I highly recommend getting this part. Together, shifter feel is vastly improved. The quality of the polyurethane tells me that now I'll never have to replace these bushings again. This thing was an unbelievable pain to install. There is just barely enough room without unbolting the drive shaft, though if you have the ability and a lift, I'd recommend removing both the exhaust and the drive shaft as this would no doubt help. Having only Jack stands and no way to get the rusted stock exhaust off without losing the O2 sensor, I just squeezed my hands in there and made do. I understand that because of the placement, it's not ALL Kartboy's fault, but GOOD GRIEF they failed on the alignment of the bolt holes! Very difficult to install no matter what order you put the bolts in. Hopefully this part will last for the rest of the life of the car, because I'm pretty sure I cross threaded the second bolt in anger. As for the tranny whine (misnomer, the noise is actually coming from the front diff), I really don't mind. An STI has plenty of funny or otherwise unusual noises that you will have to get used to anyway, so this is just an amplification of one that was already there. It is only noticeable in first and second gear, after which it basically disappears. As unlikely as it is, Kartboy should really consider releasing a version 2 of this item, as the current one is fantastic, but just needs easier installation.
  
Was this review helpful?
Hard install 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

I combined this with the other kartboy bushings and the Cobb short throw and it's awesome. Installing the two bolts for this was probably the biggest pain in the ass job I've done. It was almost impossible to get both bolts in without cross threading them. An hour later I finally did. Definitely worth it though. It could have just been me but if the bushing was just a little wider it would have been a 30 second job.
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome!  5 years ago
5out of 5stars

I installed the bushings about a week ago and the difference is noticeable on the first shift! If you're going to buy a shifter rod, you owe it to yourself to take the time and install the bushings, they make a world of difference in the shifter feel and accuracy of switching between gears.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great bushing 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Installed on my 11 sti went well with install but tight fit on getting the second bolt on. If u tread one a little and pull back bushing you can get second bolt in no problem.
  
Was this review helpful?
Best Mod for the Money-- PERIOD 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

I purchased the Kartboy front and rear shifter bushings together. They completely changed the feel of my shifts. No longer is there any slop or play to the shifting. The vehicle shifts tight and notchy. A world of difference! As always VERY happy with Rallysports. Fast delivery. Great Price.
  
Was this review helpful?
works as expected 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

35$ well spent. nothing to complain about. get it with the kartboy bushing and short shifter for a better price.
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Installed for '12 STI / '13 BRZ 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Got 2 of these as a Christmas present, one for my BRZ and the other for my friends STI. Same part. Took about 30 minutes to install on STI because we had to take off the drive shaft (1 piece CF). Very easy to put on as it only goes in one way. On the BRZ it took about 15 minutes. Bushings was harder to connect with rod, took a lot more force to get it in :). Also putting in the bushing was a pain because the driveshaft was in the way and can only twist a little bit at a time. Over all super easy install. On the STI the feel itself wasn't noticeable until you really shift, get really good feel on engagements. On the BRZ it felt like night and day, after the install the shifting felt great and hardly any play from the stock bushings. Worth the money!!!
  
Was this review helpful?
Product images
Community Media
Kartboy Rear Shifter Bushing (Part Number: )
Kartboy Rear Shifter Bushing (Part Number: )
Kartboy Rear Shifter Bushing (Part Number: )
Kartboy Rear Shifter Bushing (Part Number: )