SET YOUR CAR
Buy Now, Pay Later! Starting at 0% APR
FREE SHIPPING
On orders over $200
TALK TO A PARTS EXPERT
RALLYSPORT GUARANTEE
100% Money Back on Select Parts

Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo

MODEL # KAR KB-002-WRX-COMBO

$155.00


25 Reviews
4.9 out of 5 Stars
5 Stars
(23)
4 Stars
(2)
3 Stars
(0)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Stars
(0)
Customer Photos and Videos
Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo ( Part Number: KB-002-WRX-COMBO)
Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo ( Part Number: KB-002-WRX-COMBO)
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Must get 4 months ago
aDadwithAwrx
So I'm not a huge fan of short shifters. They're one of the last upgrades that I personally feel aren't needed right away. However, I had noticed an increase in shifter slop and came to it for new bushings. But if I'm doing that I might as well get the shifter with it. The Kartboy one was what I felt the most simple and best priced unit given what it came with. The shifts are great, shorter as expected. But the polyurethane bushings smoothen and stiffen out the shifting making this combination a new shifting experience. I recommend buying this package deal because you will not get the full effect of an upgraded shifter without the front and rear bushings. 10/10 would recommend
  
Was this review helpful?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
It does what it's supposed to! 5 months ago
aDadwithAwrx
So I purchased this short shifter because I couldn't tell if the one in the wrx I bought had a legit short shifter or some cheesy POS. Come to find out it was a cheesy POS. Purchased the kartboy one with the bushings and I must say, you think you don't need this short shifter but you do. The shifts are increasingly shorter and the feel between gears is much neater than the one that was in my car, or even the stock one. I have a y'all weighted NRG knob and the combination of these make for a smooth daily and also a clean build. 10/10
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2006 impreza 2.5i 7 months ago
datsubie06
Bought this for my 2.5i after my mechanic recommendation. Hasn't been installed yet but everything thing seems of high quality!
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Best thing i've invested in  1 year ago
neff
I'm loving it like McDonalds ! only thing that was difficult was getting the screw for the rear bushing that's next to the shaft to get in. OMG most annoying thing ever. But i love it ! smooth like butter.
  
Was this review helpful?
Wish I had done this as my first upgrade! 2 years ago
X-Ray
After 12 years, my shifter had major slop, mostly due to a bad linkage/union. (I could put the car in 1st and move the shifter to look like it was in 5th.) I opted to upgrade the bushings and shifter as well. The install was tough without a lift. Drop the downpipe and the transmission bracket for more room. There's also a hammer pin and a ring clip that can be a pain. After the install, the slop was gone, the shifts were crisp and decisive, and the throws were substantially shorter. The real magic is that the quicker gear change lets you match RPM's perfectly for much smoother daily shifts!
  
Was this review helpful?
Does what it promises.  2 years ago
John
Let me first say that shipping was very fast and the product came in its proper condition. Nothing missing. Installed these on a 2005 WRX wagon, and I was overall satisfied with the result. The throws were shorter (ive read that it's 40% shorter), and both the front and rear bushings did their job of really making those shifts crisp and enjoyable. I did, however, have much sloppiness left in the linkage itself- something this product could not fix. I will need to replace the entire shifter linkage if I want a completely tight feel. Once again, this product was not responsible for this issue. As far as installation is concerened: 3/5 difficulty (was my first mod on this car). I had to find a video on YouTube for guidance even though the instructions are on the Kartboy website. This was a matter of preference. I would highly recommend a flex socket wrench and regular crescent wrenches as well (12mm deep and shallow sockets, 10mm shallow). If you live in an area that uses salt in the winter, be sure to have some wd40 handy for those rusty bolts. That being said, the rear bushing bolts came our pretty easily, as well as the single bolt holding the front bushings together. Detaching the linkage from the gear box was a pain the butt, though! Once you pull the linkage out, it's straight forward. I actually managed to get the snap ring out with a pocket knife and put it back in with some effort. Wish I had some snap ring pliers, though.
  
Was this review helpful?
kartboy short shifter 3 years ago
wrx531
I love it the material great product plus fast shipping from rallysportdirect great store.
  
Was this review helpful?
Clearly an awesome product 3 years ago
The_Imp
Installed in my 2006 2.5i. Yes, the 2 clearance holes don't line up. I wonder if that's on purpose. All you have to do is use a screwdriver against the drive shaft to pry the 2nd bolt into position. I hesitated to get this because my car has a notchy 2nd gear. This did not increase the notchiness nor did it reduce it. It just made the notch more precise. I love shifting the car now. It was fun before and now it's Miata-like. Which as we all know, can't be beat. This comes close, though. Note, the retaining ring on my car is on the bottom of the cup, not the top like most. You have to get under the car to access it. Overall a pretty easy install. Car is at 128k miles and the stock hardware probably had 10k miles to go before they got too rusty to remove. Glad I decided to do it when I did. If you have $150 to spend on your car, get this.
  
Was this review helpful?
Enhance Your Drive With One Mod 3 years ago
Mike A.
What's better than quicker gear changes? Probably a few things but they cost a lot more than $155.00! This shifter and bushing combo sharpens up your shifts and makes your gear changes so much more direct than stock. As WRX's are getting older, these bushings need replacing anyway. Why not upgrade? I highly recommend this for anyone who's looking for a no non sense short throw shifter.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great Product 3 years ago
cotlon
Drops the height down the perfect amount and make each shift feel crisp and clean. You won't regret purchasing this.
  
Was this review helpful?
Kartboy shifter and bushings 3 years ago
Chris
I recently installed the kartboy short shifter and poly bushings on my 06 2.5i with great results. I bought the shifter and bushing combo in hopes of eliminating some of the slop that the sock rattly shifter has that's exactly what this kit does. Not only does it tighten up the shifting but it just make the car more enjoyable to drive. The shorter throw is nice too and I'm quite satisfied with the product. I had the car on a lift so installation was a breeze, took all of 30 min, and I used grease on all moving parts for best results. The only thing I had to do was loosen the bolts on the metal bracket that holds the rubber boot in place and push the bracket forward, because the shifter would make slight contact in first and vibrate.
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome shifter! takes a while to install 3 years ago
Subiespeed78
I bought this shifter combo and installed it yesterday. I must say that the shifts do feel a lot shorter and quicker which is very nice! But this did take me about 2 hours to install because of working under the car and also so old rusty bolts. *****WARNING!!****** Make sure the C clip on the bottom of the white shifter is flat and locked!! I learned the hard way and didn't completely snap it on and when i was driving the shifter popped out of the cup!!! Make sure the C clip is all the way on when installing this shifter. Other than that this is an awesome shifter for anyone looking for a little bit quicker 0-60 times ;)
  
Was this review helpful?
I ordered the wrong one 4 years ago
stone.jj97008
Definitely take the time to check to make sure this is correct for your car! It looks like Subaru's factory SPT/STI short shifter may also be 'chrome' or silver colored (just like the Kartboy one looks like). I checked mine prior to ordering, noted it was NOT gold, so I figured this must be the correct one. After removing the old lever and comparing the two, I noted that they were almost the same in design (the kartboy one slightly shorter), however, the pivot point was slightly wider on the Karboy shifter, therefore it would not fit in the shifter linkage. It would be good for RallySport Direct to update the note that the SPT/STI short shifter may also be chrome/silver in color.
  
Was this review helpful?
good combo 4 years ago
j-bugeye
These items were fairly easy to install in my '02 wrx wagon, and compliment each other. Removing the rear lateral sub-frame piece provided lots of room to work. Shifts feel crisp and solid.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
not the most fun in the world to install 4 years ago
Edmondwilcox53424
so i bought this shifter combo on friday morning and it was at my door on monday, with only priority shipping. as soon as i got it i was like a kid on christmas and couldnt wait to install it. so i took the 10 minutes to put the shifter itself on. super easy install. then drove around and parked the car. i was thinking the rest of the install would be just as easy, i was waaaaaaay wrong. it sucked to put on. i have to use 2 ft worth of extensions just to get the old rear bushing out, after dropping the heat shield and the driveshaft. after fighting with it for over an hour i removed the shifter itself. this made it a touch easier but i was still having a rough time. didnt help that i invite my wife to watch...mistake. though she was a good tool gopher, she spent most of the time laughing at me for how hard i was struggling. mind you i was working on my back with the car jacked up as far as my crappy little jack would go. then it came time for the front bushing. well if you dont know, the factory bushing is one piece. not two like the new one. it took me another 20 minutes to get that out. not from lack of trying but from sheer lack of space. but i got it in. so moral of the story.... make sure you have a lift. this sucks to do in the driveway. at least some ramps or something. but it does feel great in your hand, shifts are crisp and is a 100% improvement from stock. ps, dont do arms and shoulders prior to this job.
  
Was this review helpful?
Love it! 4 years ago
Bandaru
I just installed this STS in my '04 WRX. Took a while to install mostly due to rear bushing being difficult (the first bolt went in great, but the second one took some work), but I finally got it all put together. Throws are quite a bit shorter, and overall it feels so much better! Definitely worth the money.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great product 5 years ago
SirRichieLee
Easy to install. I would highly suggest getting this kit if you plan on buying a short shifter. A short shifter kit is incomplete without the bushings. The bushings helped with the new feel of having the short lever.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great product 5 years ago
SirRichieLee
Easy to install. I would highly suggest getting this kit if you plan on buying a short shifter. A short shifter kit is incomplete without the bushings. The bushings helped with the new feel of having the short lever.
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome! 5 years ago
mikeranaldo134508209
Just installed the short shifter and bushings into my 05 wrx. took a little over an hour, the rear bushing was a little but of a pain to install. gear changes feel much more solid, throw is nice, short, and sporty. you can hear a little whining from 1st-3rd, but i kinda like that. excellent product!
  
Was this review helpful?
Love the Shifter, not sold on the bushings 6 years ago
OBP WRX
Shifter is awesome, install is easy and the shifts feel great. Front bushing is easy to install, rear bushing is a bit of a pain and one of the bolts seemed too long. I couldn't get one side all the way tightened down, but it is close enough.
  
Was this review helpful?
totally worth it 7 years ago
nflannery9312490
i have a 06 2.5i and was sort of worried about everything fitting, especially the bushings. the front ones were wicked easy but the rear one was a different story. no worries though,everything ended up getting on there. after the install i tightened where the shifter actually connects via 12mm bolt to whatever (looks like a fork) in the center console. after all of that my shifts are noticeably shorter and more solid.
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome product 7 years ago
TMBsmile48124
Awesome so far especially with the bushing combo. The only bushing you reuse is the one in the stock shifter. Everything is tighter and much quicker shifts. Feels like a real sports car. Must have if modifying. It only took me like 45 mins to install and I've never done one before. It was a perfect fit for my 2007 wrx. Definitely worth the money.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
No need for an adjustable throw  7 years ago
Hottirocket
I was considering an adjustable throw shifter but I decided to go with the Kartboy instead. This made every shift feel perfect, there is no need for adjustability when its already perfect. The bushings are a must
  
Was this review helpful?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Kartboy Short Throw and bushings 7 months ago
Teamdiedrich
Great news! It does exactly what you’d think it would! It shortens throws!
  
Was this review helpful?
Is it that short? 2 years ago
Kartboy
The product is very easy to install. Everything got much tighter after I installed the new busings. But i could not feel any huge difference when changing gears, but now I can say that I have short shift at least.
  
Was this review helpful?
Product images
Community Media
Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo (Part Number: )
Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo (Part Number: )