SET YOUR CAR
Buy Now, Pay Later!
FREE SHIPPING
On orders over $200
TALK TO A PARTS EXPERT
RALLYSPORT GUARANTEE
100% Money Back on Select Parts

Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo

MODEL # KAR KB-002-LEG-WRX08

$165.00


48 Reviews
4.7 out of 5 Stars
5 Stars
(36)
4 Stars
(10)
3 Stars
(2)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Stars
(0)
Customer Photos and Videos
Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo ( Part Number: KB-002-LEG-WRX08)
Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo ( Part Number: KB-002-LEG-WRX08)
Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo ( Part Number: KB-002-LEG-WRX08)
Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo ( Part Number: KB-002-LEG-WRX08)
Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo ( Part Number: KB-002-LEG-WRX08)
'11 WRX. 2 months ago
AJ
Oh yes. Much nice. Such wow lol. Definitely can tell a difference in how much more solid it feels compared to stock. I would buy it again if I had to. Purchased the short Tomei Duracon shift knob as well. That combo in my opinion adds an even more racey feeling to the car.
  
Was this review helpful?
Do it! 8 months ago
Ron
Super easy install. It took 45 minutes after watching some youtube clips. My wrx now has a better feeling to it when shifting. Biggest recommendation is to add some grease where the linkage and rubber boot meet. The shifter raises the linkage a little bit and rub when shifting making a squeaking noise.
  
Was this review helpful?
Short throw shifter and bushings 10 months ago
Nate
Just got around to installing this package over the weekend and wow! What a difference it makes in the stock WRX shifting feel. It's short, crisp, and you can even hear when you click it into great now. Do this before you do anything else on your vehicle.
  
Was this review helpful?
Kartboy Short Shift 1 year ago
kevinc6639
Very easy install, start everything by hand before tightening and it will go smooth. I didn't realize that there was that much slop in the stock set up. Shifts are smooth and solid.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great product!!! 3 years ago

Kartboy short throw shifter is super easy to install and shifts are precise and noticeably shorter. Paired with the bushing kit you can't go wrong. Looks to be solid with no chance of ever getting weak as far as the way it is made. Great shifter especially for the money.
  
Was this review helpful?
On point 3 years ago
Thegreat08
The feel and workability of this short shifter is excellent. Just installed mine along with a clutch swap and couldn't be happier! Just keep in mind there's a snap ring you need to remove preferably with snap ring pliers to make the change. Dykes can do it too, but it's a pain!
  
Was this review helpful?
Great Combo 3 years ago
Spinnich
Installed on a 2012 WRX Sdn. , not a terrible install but some things you'll want and might not have are a C-Clip Pliers, a 12in. extension, universal adapter, and a fair amount of white lithium grease. No noticeable NHV increase like some people have said but this might be because I replaced the grease with new grease and made sure not to over-tighten the bolt that holds the shifting rod to the linkage.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Exactly what i was looking for. 3 years ago
flyingtar
To be honest, i wanted a short shifter. I wanted the improved shifting speed/feel of the shifter with the harder bushings. I didn't want an adjustable one, because I know i would spend countless hours adjusting and testing. Not saying thats a bad thing. Anywhoo... Great shifter, drops the height by about half an inch, maybe slightly more. Lowers the shift difference by about half the throw. With the addition of the harder bushings the shift feels much better more precise. quick tip if your going to buy this. The install can be done primarily from the inside of the car. Don't go through with removing the trans support mount, just undo both the rear bushing and the front bushing. Pull it all out through the top when you pull the shifter itself. Install in reverse order.
  
Was this review helpful?
Amazing 3 years ago
J_Pipe
I hated how far I had to throw the shifter in my 2013 WRX from the day I got it. I decided to get this and have no regrets. I don't really think I needed the bushings, but I have gotten used to them at this point. If you don't have an exhaust or listen to your music loud, you may not like the extra noise that the bushings make but you should still get the SS.
  
Was this review helpful?
Exactly what i was looking for 3 years ago
flyingtar
I was looking for a shifter that would shorten my throw without dropping the hight dramatically. This did exactly that. For my 11 scubie, the hight difference is about half an inch, not that big of deal. But with the new bushings and the shorter throw. Everything is much more precise. The only thing i recommend is that you apply a little grease to the boot around the top of the gear stick. The increased hight of the short shifter makes it rub slightly. (it makes a squeaking noise if not greased.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great bang for the buck 3 years ago
Aramis
I upgraded from a factory STS to this combo on my 2012 WRX. Install was pretty straightforward except for the rear bushing. It's pretty hard to get the bolts to thread in straight since the bushing holes seem just a bit too close together. Use lots of grease so nothing squeaks or creaks once you're done. Shifter feels GREAT now, I'm noticing the vagueness is gone from 5th gear and the gear positions are very positive. Knob isn't too low and the shift boot looks just fine. Very happy with this.
  
Was this review helpful?
installed on a 2010 wrx 3 years ago
klopez204
After installing the short shifter and bushing I notice the throw to be slightly shorter, and the shift between gears is a lot more solid
  
Was this review helpful?
perfect 4 years ago
Willofalltrades
This kit made the shifter what it should have been from the factory.
  
Was this review helpful?
Make this your first mod! 4 years ago
odevlin81487
This shifter is mint! Throw, feel and looks on my '14 WRX are all improved 100% Install took about 45 minutes on a lift, minimal tools required. Had to fight with the new rear mount a bit as the bolts are splayed out a little but anyone with a little mech know how can easily handle this. GREAT PRODUCT!
  
Was this review helpful?
Easy Install. Improves shifting dramatically 4 years ago
ryanmalmoe33458
Absolutely love the feel of the shifter now. A must buy for all WRX owners. Shifter travel/play is a lot shorter and you can transition through the gears way faster than with the stock shifter /bushings. For Install: Do it all at once (bushings and short shifter) and take the whole assembly out. I had to take it out because the rear shifter bushing would not slide off because there is just no room under the car to remove and replace it. Other than that, install went smoothly. RSD as always great customer service and fast shipping. Thank you!
  
Was this review helpful?
5th gear no longer in BFE 4 years ago
jeremy_rawe23201
One thing I hated with the stock shifter was the ridiculously long throw especially for 5th, and the amount of play in the stock shifter was pretty bad. Installed the shifter and bushing and now the shifts are crisp and short, and when going into 5th gear with a passenger I no longer have to worry about awkwardly touching their knee when going to 5th. Should have bought this a long time ago!
  
Was this review helpful?
Great 4 years ago
mitoda66542
Bought these with the bushings, feels great. Some people do mention about the harshness and notchy feel, which I agree. It took me a little to get used to it, but I'm loving it now. I wish it could be just a little shorter, but much better than stock.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great 4 years ago
mitoda66542
Bought these with the bushings, feels great. Some people do mention about the harshness and notchy feel, which I agree. It took me a little to get used to it, but I'm loving it now. I wish it could be just a little shorter, but much better than stock.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great Shifter! 4 years ago
dondoblados
My car is a 2008 Subaru Impreza 2.5i hatchback. I bought the shifter with the bushing and they're awesome. It's nigh and day from the OEM shifter. The Kart Boy is so much more direct and precise. One tip, when you plan on installing the bushings. It will be easier to remove the shifter linkage from under the car. Great customer service as well from Rally Sport Direct!
  
Was this review helpful?
Crisp Shift 4 years ago
ChrisRNine
The shifting feels so much more mechanical and makes the car very fun to drive, especially in stop and go traffic. When paired with the Kartboy shift knob, it makes it feel like you are driving a completely different car.
  
Was this review helpful?
Easy install. Very nice upgrade 5 years ago
adrianwalkosz72731
Like everyone says, great upgrade. Much less travel and smoother shifting as well. Took about an hour and it was no problem at all.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great Short Throw Shifter 5 years ago
douglas33075
I purchased this with expectations that it’s just another short thro shifter. I also purchased the bushing as well. The whole installation took about approximately two in a half hours. Installation was not very difficult since there was plenty of online forms and video to assist me with the process. Installation on the bushing was a long process, but just be patient take it one step at a time. The rear bushing is much more challenging than the front one. Pro: Overall much smoother and crisp shifts with approximately 40% less travel and my biggest improvement is 5th gear is very short. Definitely worth the money. Note: If you have access to a lift I recommend using it because it made the installation a lot easier. Cons: None, I wish I have done this sooner
  
Was this review helpful?
Easy Install on the 14 WRX 5 years ago
parapd
After reading the reviews here, and watching two different people on You Tube installing the bushings, because there is no directions with this kit. It took longer to lift the car, prep, and take the car down off of the jacks to install everything. The 14 WRX was easier than in the you tube videos, the vehicles in the videos were a 07 sti, and 10 wrx. Much easier to complete this by taking off heat shield, and o2 sensor. Front linkage is only held in by a flange nut, on the rear 12 mm socket, extension, and crescent wrench you can extend. Guide the rear in with bolts, tighten a little, then tighten both once you have both in. Do both the bushings, and short shifter at the same time, with the shifter out inside of the car, the linkage comes right out. Watch the you tube videos!!!
  
Was this review helpful?
A MUST!!! 5 years ago
10rex408
This is a must for anyone that doesnt have it yet. The difference in shifting with this kit installed is like day and night. installation only took me about 1hr for both bushings and short shifter. the rear bushing is a bit difficult to put on but just take your time and dont get frustrated lol. RSD shipping is very quick. thanks guys!. will definitely be buying more parts from here.
  
Was this review helpful?
It's a Short Shifter! 5 years ago
a3ng25
What can I say. It's a good short shifter. Does what it should. You can feel it going into gear much more so than with the OEM. The only thing I've noticed is that right turns where i shift into second and remain holding the shift knob...the left-pressure seems to make it give off a little rattling noise; small and not obnoxious but noticeable.
  
Was this review helpful?
great modification 5 years ago
jsantos1082
I installed this short shifter over the weekend and it took about an hour as i took my time. I had a OEM short throw from Subaru and you can really tell the difference between the two. i havent installed the bushings though, will eventually get to those later on.
  
Was this review helpful?
I'm amazed! 5 years ago
DarthSubaru
On top of upgrading my exaust and installing a cobb short ram intake I opted to get this short throw and bushing combo along with the Kartboy black shift knob... I'm amazed at the difference it makes. I have so much more control and i'm now spend 40% less time shifting. I'd recommend this mod to anyone who wants that extra little bit of awesome out of their car.
  
Was this review helpful?
Worth the money 5 years ago
Kenja84
Love this kit. Easy install. Only took about an hour without using a lift! Definitely recomend this. And RSD for awesome customer support!
  
Was this review helpful?
Very easy install.  6 years ago
Silver 2012 WRX
Throw is MUCH shorter, as well as crisper shift. Would buy again.
  
Was this review helpful?
A good call for my 2012 WRX 6 years ago
icer3265491
Hard to say what hasn't already been said but here is my two cents. I had it installed at the dealer during an oil change for about $60 bucks I think a month ago. At first I actually didn't like the lever being lower (coming from the stock STI short throw) but as of today I love everything about this upgrade. I can be casual on the shift and still be quick enough to get minor clutch kick in every gear. The bushings are amazing. Not much else I can say but I love it. I run the SPT exhaust and have noticed no additional NVH. Looking back I probably should have done this upgrade sooner.
  
Was this review helpful?
Product images
Community Media
Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo (Part Number: )
Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo (Part Number: )
Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo (Part Number: )
Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo (Part Number: )
Kartboy Short Shifter and Bushing Combo (Part Number: )