SET YOUR CAR
Buy Now, Pay Later!
FREE SHIPPING
On orders over $200
TALK TO A PARTS EXPERT
RALLYSPORT GUARANTEE
100% Money Back on Select Parts

GrimmSpeed Master Cylinder Brace

MODEL # GRM 091029

$95.00


58 Reviews
4.5 out of 5 Stars
5 Stars
(38)
4 Stars
(16)
3 Stars
(0)
2 Stars
(2)
1 Stars
(2)
Customer Photos and Videos
No user media. You can upload a photo or video of your install by posting a review.
Finally got around to installing this - a little trick to solve the PITA tight space installation 3 months ago
iamfrozt
2013 STI Installation So, I purchased this probably 18 months ago. I've done a ton of other mods in the meantime and just seemed to look at this on my workbench and think to myself, nah maybe later after thinking about the nightmare review on how much of a PITA this would be for installation. I'll be real. It's tough, but with a few little tricks it's probably going to be considerably easier. I'll start with, my installation may actually have been a little bit tighter and harder to do because I have an aftermarket Fuel Pressure regulator, fuel pressure gauge, and stainless fuel lines in that general area that were using the legacy wire harness bracket for mounting. As a part of the directions, you obviously need to disconnect the wire harness and remove the bracket, giving you space to work. I couldn't do that with my SS lines, FPR, and gauge since they are larger and harder to manuever. The directions are great from Grimmspeed, and overall it's a pretty straight forward and easy installation, the hardest part is trying to get the first 3 small bolts installed into the chassis to mount up the brace, which is insanely tight and cramped where the master cylinder is located. After about 30 minutes of attempting to contort my hands and arms to try and hand thread those bolts in without dropping them and also lining the bracket up right, I thought there was probably an easier way. Super glue... Basically, the way that I solved the my hands aren't tiny enough problem is that I took my 10mm gear wrench, and the first of the bolts (the upper left they reference in the guide) and I put super glue around the head of the bolt and pushed it into the gear wrench closed end until it got tacky. Now I had a tool to use in order to position and get the first bolt installed without trying to figure out how to shrink my hand. I've also effectively shown that I can create and use tools better similar to my primate counterparts, so I effectively got bonus points for the day. The super glue was tacky enough to hold the bolt in place so that I could install it, but not too much that I couldn't easily break the wrench off afterward. The two lower left ones I was able to install by hand without much trouble and used the same flexible gear wrench to tighten, which helped in the tight spots. The wiring harness bracket went back in without issues. I ended up zip tying my lines and gauge/mounting block back to the wiring harness bracket (again unique build) and voila. The pedal feel is noticeably improved, and it's worth the money for the improvement. The reality is I think this should have been a factory installation because the terrible spot welds to the firewall are pathetic on our vehicles.
  
Was this review helpful?
Sturdy 3 years ago
the_newt
Install was a little easier because I've put one of these on an older GR that I used to have. Brake feel is even better than it was when I install stainless steel lines. Would buy again if I got a third WRX.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great Upgrade 3 years ago
chraxter
So as everyone has stated, this is a total pain to install. Expect to have your hand and wrist chewed up at the end of the install. This really did firm up my brake pedal and made it much more consistent. I would recommend this to anyone that wants a firmer, more predictable brake feeling. The build quality is awesome! Very, very sturdy bracket. INSTALL TIP: Put tape on the bolt end before you place it in your socket. I used electrical tape. The makes the bolt a little tighter in the socket so it doesn't fall out when you're using your ratchet at weird angles. The hardest bolt for me was the very first bolt that you put in the bracket, but once I used the tape it made it so much easier. Hope this can help everyone out!
  
Was this review helpful?
This plus SS brake lines 3 years ago
NIC08899
Added the Grimspeed master cylinder brace along with SS brake lines, DRAMATIC IMPROVEMENT IN BREAKING!!! Upgraded at 55k, it was time to replace my brake fluid so I used super DOT 4 while I was at it. This thing is a pain to install, but I knew that going in to it. The trick I've used is to tape the bolt you are trying to insert in the the socket. That way you don't keep dropping it in the motor and other hard to reach places. Have a selection of universal joints and extenders with this instal, you'll have to get creative to get leverage to tighten it in to place. ALSO, A MECHANIC MUST IS A LONG GRABBY THING AND A MAGET ON A STICK, that way when you drop your bolt in hard to reach places you can fish it out no problem. Bottom line: if you're going to do it, do it right the first time! Going fast is cool, but your brakes need to be able to match your speed and acceleration.
  
Was this review helpful?
Master Cylinder Brace review 3 years ago
phanb8934031
In my opinion, this is one of the best mods you can do for the price. Install is very simple and straight forwarded but can be a pain if you have big hands like me. I use these for AutoX and as my daily and braking confidence from high speeds is greatly improved. At lower speeds I couldn't tell a difference. Overall, solid product that doesn't dent the wallet.
  
Was this review helpful?
Installed on my 2009 Legacy 3.0R Limited 4 years ago
turh4978814
Great product. Pedal feel is greatly increased. Install on my Legacy 3.0R was pretty easy.
  
Was this review helpful?
WOW! Must buy! 4 years ago
Printimus
This brace is a must have! Before, brakes felt a little spongey with the master cylinder flexing in the firewall. After, like pushing up against a brick wall. Solid feel when braking.
  
Was this review helpful?
Nice brace 4 years ago
mac_sti
Pain to install but worth it.
  
Was this review helpful?
Pdel Feel. 4 years ago
Berto
worth the money a hassle to install, took me an hour & a half. Noticed a stiffer pedal feel when braking at higher speeds (40mph+).
  
Was this review helpful?
2009 Impreza 2.5i NA Sedan 4 years ago
evaradar
I bit the bullet and decided to purchase this for my 09 sedan. Lo and behold it installed perfectly fine, and there were no issues. I double checked the fitment from Grimmspeed and my mechanic, and it was good to go. Installation is easier than the turbo models, as there is no TMIC (Top Mount Intercooler). However it was a PITA to install it, due to the limited space provided and having big hands. Otherwise it took around an hour or so as I am new to this. One thing I forgot to do, is the three strut holes to the far left, it was rusted and I should have cleaned it out. So while installing the top most nut on the left hand side, it snapped. However the bottom two nuts of the three are securing it well. I can definitely feel an improvement to braking, and I am sure with Stop Tech front braided stainless steel lines, it will be even better. I am on an OEM set up.
  
Was this review helpful?
Enjoy the Pain! 4 years ago
deckedoutdesign31199
With two people was able to get installed in about an hour. But like others said its in a tight place and you will drop the bolts several times. But after install completely satisfied. You can definitely notice a difference. Looks good too.
  
Was this review helpful?
Noticeable difference, but massive pain. 4 years ago
drcyclejr135406
First off, yes this does make a difference from everyday driving to hard braking. It just feels so much stronger and responsive. But the installation, wow. The instructions and Grimmspeeds video need updating for sure. At least with the 2010 STi there is a lot more stuff by the master cylinder then they had to work around. The install is the same, and it fits perfect, but on my 2010 STi hatch there are more fuel lines and brake lines, and one ran right over two of the bolt hole, I had to bend it a bit to fit the bolts in. It took me about 3 hours to maneuver around the brake and fuel lines to get the bolts and everything in and tight. It helps if you take the inter cooler off first. So 5 stars for the actual brace and fitment, but 0 out of 100 for install.
  
Was this review helpful?
2011 forester xt 5 years ago
mig150100384
I followed the instructions on YouTube on how to install this product and I have to honestly say i didn't have such a hard time installing the brace. Tops maybe 45min total. I think the hardest part for me was holding the fuel line bracket in place so it wouldn't get in the way. Very big difference in brake pedal feel after installing this brace. I would really recommend anyone to buy this.
  
Was this review helpful?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Cool part. Not that hard to install.  5 years ago
built2drive
Picked this up to just firm things up in the brake department. Read many reviews on this being a pain to install. Maybe because I have small hands and come from Porsche and Audi, but this only took me 20-25 minutes to install. I used a 10mm deep 1/4 drive socket, 3 long 1/4 drive extension and ratchet. (If you don't have a long handle ratchet, get one) Putting in the bolts, push the brake line back towards the firewall slightly. Use a small piece of paper towel, put it over the bolt head and put it into the socket. This will hold the bolt firmly. Use the stocket/extension to start all the bolts. Also, I had to rotate my lower fuel line around due to whatever regulator/restrictor they have inline. Product looks good and beefy.
  
Was this review helpful?
Master Cylinder Brace 5 years ago
Moody1
Top notch quality. Once out of the box you realize how sturdy this piece is. As with others it is a pain to install. But due to dropping a socket and already having the car on ramps. I found that the bolts are easier to get to from the bottom. Well worth the investment you can feel the difference right off.
  
Was this review helpful?
Car parts 5 years ago
mbflinn
Sure, it's a pain to install, but it's a car part. You can't give it a poor rating because the install is difficult. Product is excellent, installation was time consuming and full of grunting, but this part makes a difference. And if you are one of those people with the dreaded Subaru firewall crack/clutch pedal tick, this can help prevent pushing your clutch pedal mounting bracket through the firewall while you save up the $$$$$ and time to pull your interior apart and weld the firewall up.
  
Was this review helpful?
Excellent product 5 years ago
charlie
I did the install in about 40 minutes by myself from the top of the car, the install was very straight forward and easy to install. The brakes do seem firmer now pedal feel doesn't seem that squishy. I would recommend this for anyone that is looking for a brake master cylinder brace.
  
Was this review helpful?
Noticeable Difference 5 years ago
nickjeswald87711
My stock brakes felt squishy, and there was a slight lag in response when I depressed the brake pedal. After I had my mechanic install the master cylinder brace, the pedal response was much faster, and the brakes grabbed much more sharply. Problem solved.
  
Was this review helpful?
A very good brace for your (my) 2008 WRX 5 years ago
swatspyder
I am very happy that I purchased this brace. There is a noticeable difference in pedal feel in both the brake pedal and clutch pedal. Before installing the brace, there was more flex when each one was stepped on. Overall, I would recommend the purchase and install of this brace. The install was a pain, but only because I didn't have a good socket wrench, and I didn't have a u-joint. You do have to put a little bit of muscle into getting things settled in the correct spots. I had mine installed and done in 40 min. One recommendation I have is to hold on to the 10mm socket, and put the bolts into it. It gives you something more substantial to hold on to when starting them all.
  
Was this review helpful?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
MCB for Forester SH XT 5 years ago
bert.kenny1153369
Found a couple confirmed fitments on subaruforester.org for the SH model (MY 09-13) Forester and decided to try for myself. It fits! Not sure why Grimmspeed does not advertise it as such though. As for the brace itself, it a quality piece and definitely firms up the pedal feel. I would recommend it. Make sure to have a universal joint and extensions on hand. What I did to hold the bolts to the socket was stick a piece of blue painter tape on the socket to wedge the bolt in place to allow easier threading of the bolts.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Painful but Great feel 5 years ago
the_newt
Like all the other reviews here, this was a pain in the ass to install but with two friends, intercooler removal and an 18 extension, it was put on in easily under an hour with minimal swearing involved. I have tried making my own brackets before and the feel was questionable but with this brace I can definitely feel more resistance while pressing the brake pedal.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Awesome! 5 years ago
nemesis_g1766753
Install is not as bad as everyone is saying. You can install all the bolts with a 1/4 extension 4 long without the ratchet to get them started then tighten them all with your ratchet. You can get on all the bolts straight on no universal joint. Just drop your hand down between the intercooler and master cylinder right at the firewall. The extension trick will save your fingers!
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Awesome product, pain to install 5 years ago
Bluemax189
Love the product and instantly noticed a better, stiffer feel in the brakes. I have a 2011 wrx with front and rear brembos. Word of advice for the install, remove the TMIC. I actually taped the bolts to a socket and a long(3ft) extension and loosly threaded them in from the passenger side of the car. My hands are bog so squeezing them in the tight spaces like in the install video was not happening.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
This thing is a beast... 5 years ago
WesD
OK I think we all know by now that this installation is not an easy one. On the 08+ STi the OEM fuel lines coming out of the firewall along with the fuel damper/regulator assembly completely shroud the master cylinder. We found it easiest to remove the OEM fuel lines from the firewall and set them out of the way to install this. Or if you are re-doing any of the fuel lines in conjunction with other modifications buy this and install it then! With that out of the way this bracket is so over engineered it is hard NOT to love it out of the box. It is properly gusseted in all areas to ensure it is NOT going to flex. It fits perfectly and once in place allows all OEM brackets and lines in the area to fit as intended. Most importantly it DOES what it is supposed to do! Pedal feel is much improved and gone is that less than inspiring initial braking impression. I have always felt that despite the large calipers that the STi brakes are a bit soft in feel and this helps to cure that. Good price, great fit and finish, does what it is supposed to do! Buy it...
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
A little tricky but eliminates master cylinder flex completely 5 years ago
Froseph55
I installed this brace on my 2.5i Impreza which was slightly different for the WRX and STI. Basically the only difference is one less fuel line. I was only able to install 3 of the five bolts because of the confined space in that area, but even at that it remains solidly affixed to the strut and does not move when slamming on the brakes. Very nice product highly recommended.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
PITA 5 years ago
thor_h7482837
A bit of a PITA to install. I found accessing the bolts which fasten into the shock tower easiest to reach coming from under the car. I was able to install and properly tighten all 5 bolts. The brake stiffy does make a difference in braking feel...much less perceived flex and a solid feel. With my 2011 sti there is no manner in which to reuse the plastic OEM fuel line as the instructions say. Good planning and Zipties are the answer for a clean and secure install.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great build quality, huge improvement 6 years ago
mcdbrendan72030
This thing is burly. It has perfect welds and the black powder coat finishes it well. Install is considerably easier (yet still slightly frustrating) with the top mount intercooler removed, which is only 5 bolts. The difference is definitely noticeable under hard, repeated braking. The pedal is firm and brake modulation is much more direct. Great product.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
World of difference!  6 years ago
RSDarkko
Yet another awesome piece from Grimmspeed! Install on my 08 STi was a huge PITA like everyone else said, but who cares? It makes the pedal feel SO MUCH MORE CONFIDENT. Just do it. :)
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Nice Product, Good Quality Components! 6 years ago
tempemail55c5218fcaae52292d8b46c2
While it is a rather small project it was a little annoying at times trying to thread the back 3 bolts to the strut tower. Luckily I had the help of the gf who has smaller hands. Overall I noticed the pedal feel had a noticeably firmer feeling and it does give you more confidence under heavier braking situations. Install time was about 45 min. Next up stainless Lines!
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
GO GRIMMSPEED! 6 years ago
[email protected]
I have yet to install this item but I received it the other day and I must say the quality is superb, Grimmspeed did a great job with the design and production of this part! Do yourself a favor and get one of these.
  
Was this review helpful?
Product images
Community Media
GrimmSpeed Master Cylinder Brace (Part Number: )
GrimmSpeed Master Cylinder Brace (Part Number: )
GrimmSpeed Master Cylinder Brace (Part Number: )
GrimmSpeed Master Cylinder Brace (Part Number: )
GrimmSpeed Master Cylinder Brace (Part Number: )
GrimmSpeed Master Cylinder Brace (Part Number: )
GrimmSpeed Master Cylinder Brace (Part Number: )
GrimmSpeed Master Cylinder Brace (Part Number: )
GrimmSpeed Master Cylinder Brace (Part Number: )