SET YOUR CAR
FREE SHIPPING
On orders over $100
TALK TO A PARTS EXPERT
RALLYSPORT GUARANTEE
100% Money Back on Select Parts

GrimmSpeed Hood Struts

MODEL # GRM097016

$132.00


37 Reviews
4.8 out of 5 Stars
5 Stars
(33)
4 Stars
(3)
3 Stars
(0)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Stars
(1)
Customer Photos and Videos
GrimmSpeed Hood Struts ( Part Number: 097016)
GrimmSpeed Hood Struts ( Part Number: 097016)
GrimmSpeed Hood Struts ( Part Number: 097016)
GrimmSpeed Hood Struts ( Part Number: 097016)
GrimmSpeed Hood Struts ( Part Number: 097016)
GrimmSpeed Hood Struts ( Part Number: 097016)
GrimmSpeed Hood Struts ( Part Number: 097016)
Wish I did this sooner. 3 months ago
5out of 5stars

Install was a breeze, the quality is phenomenal. The R&D that went Into this was impeccable. If your in the fence of what to buy next, dont hesitate this is well worth the money hand over fist.
  
Was this review helpful?
Bang for buck 4 months ago
5out of 5stars

Perfect for exactly what it's designed for. Brings the hood all the way up! Still maintains a low profile on the sides, so it's definitely still easy to work around.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
I love hood struts and you will too! 4 months ago
5out of 5stars

I didnt think much of hood struts in years past. Then I got them for my S2000(a different brand of course), and I loved them! So naturally I HAD to get them for my STi. And guess what? I love them still! Gets the worry of knocking the hood strut out of place and dropping the hood on your head. And when digging a TMIC out, every little bit helps in the engine bay work space. And it looks great. One of those products that you won't appreciate until you have it on your car.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
07 sti 10 months ago
5out of 5stars

Install was quick. Bought these to make it easier when pulling out my motor. These were worth it.
  
Was this review helpful?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Super easy to install and looks great  10 months ago
5out of 5stars

I got these because i was tired of working around the stock hood holder. They fit perfectly, look great, and are not that expensive. I do with it came with washers for the bolts that go into the engine bay.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Worth every penny 12 months ago
5out of 5stars

These make working on your car so much easier. You can get into every nook and cranny. They make your hood go a full 90°. Install was easy. Just wish they labeled the brakets. Other than that super easy and very pleased with the product.
  
Was this review helpful?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
These are the best  1 year ago
5out of 5stars

10/10 easy install , great functionality, and a great addition to my beloved wrx wagon , if you thinking about it #justdoit
  
Was this review helpful?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Worth the 15 minutes  1 year ago
5out of 5stars

If you do any work under the hood, hood struts are worth the 15 minutes work to install. Also the additional range of motion the GrimmSpeed struts give is like having a removable hood without the pain of always needing a second person to help.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great purchase.  2 years ago
5out of 5stars

I love these. Make sure you have the updated install instructions, the ones on the grimmspeed website are out of date.
  
Was this review helpful?
Review 2 years ago
5out of 5stars

These look nice under the hood! No more having to deal with that damn hood prop in the way when working under the hood! You have a lot more room and visible light with these! Kind of pricey but worth it to me!
  
Was this review helpful?
Great Product!  2 years ago
5out of 5stars

They are very well built and great quality. Very easy to install bolt right in, its only four bolts all together to install them. It has two potions standard half up which is good for checking oil and full open which puts the hood straight vertical which is great for when your working on the car. I would highly recommend them if your looking to get rid of the original hood prop rod.
  
Was this review helpful?
2006 STI 2 years ago
5out of 5stars

If you ever plan on working under the hood of your Subaru then these are a must. Takes about 10 minutes to install and takes the hood all the way up and out of your way. The hood stand almost straight up and down. I would defiantly buy these again.
  
Was this review helpful?
Installed on 2004 WRX 3 years ago
5out of 5stars

Just finished installing these on my 2004 WRX. Shipping was quick and the packaging was great as always. Installation was relatively easy. Just download or view the installation guide provided by RSD and you're good to go. Hood opens to almost 90 degrees.
  
Was this review helpful?
New look, new boo  3 years ago
5out of 5stars

These guys were very easy to install. If you do one side at a time, you won't have a problem. They look really good and add a new aesthetic to the car. It does get scary when they shoot the hood up but once you get used to it, you'll have all the girls in the yard. Quality feels fantastic and the gold decals included are just the cherry on top.
  
Was this review helpful?
Hood struts 3 years ago
5out of 5stars

-quick shipping -easy install -look great -work great -nice upgrade in the engine bay
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
These are awesome! 3 years ago
5out of 5stars

I recently installed these on my Sti and I love them! It is a very easy install that doesn't require any drilling or modification. Makes it a lot easier to work on the car as it brings the hood close to a 90 degree angle and removes the hood prop rod out of the way.
  
Was this review helpful?
New favorite mod! (Makes the other mods MUCH easier to do) 3 years ago
5out of 5stars

The bushing that holds my hood prop in blew out forever ago, and of course the plastic part that holds it over the radiator cracked like 6 months into ownership of the car. Bleh. But, these were quite possibly the best idea anyone could have come up with. Install was a breeze - took like 10 minutes - I did it in the car wash on my lunch break, while waiting for the engine degreaser to soak in a little. The only downside to these is that I have no need to try to fit a little plastic thing in my GrimmSpeed radiator shroud now, which they machined it for. Aww, who am I kidding? There is NO DOWNSIDE to these!
  
Was this review helpful?
Easy to install! 3 years ago
5out of 5stars

Easy to install and incredibly functional. They put the hood at nearly 90° and makes working under there much better.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great Buy 3 years ago
5out of 5stars

Always really wanted these and finally got around to buying. These are amazing. Easy 1 person install in about 10 minutes. Only 1 thing that I would improve upon is how far you have to lift the hood prior to the struts taking over but honestly, who cares because I got them to hold the hood up, not necessarily lift it. Well worth the price.
  
Was this review helpful?
Perfect! 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

These struts only took a couple of minutes to install and they work great! Makes working under the hood so much better!
  
Was this review helpful?
Buy it. 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

I installed these on my 05 WRX Sedan and they fit perfectly, barely took 30 min to complete the install. They just make working under the hood so much easier with the added head space.
  
Was this review helpful?
best upgrade 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

simple upgrade but effective. easy install. a must have for anyone working under the hood.
  
Was this review helpful?
More than just engine dress up 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

These definitely do more than just look good. getting the hood strut out of the way and having the extra space is a huge help when working on the car. It's basically like removing the hood. Wish I would have got these before I did my downpipe. Build quality is great and they open and close like butter.
  
Was this review helpful?
Adds 5HP! 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

OK, they don't add any HP, but they do raise my hood pretty quick. Perfect fix for the stock bar which didn't want to fit well with my Mishimoto radiator. They look and work great!
  
Was this review helpful?
Solid product. 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Perfect fit, feels secure. Well made and very straightforward to install - took me longer to get my tools out than it did to bolt it on. Worth the extra cost over the cheapie eBay models.
  
Was this review helpful?
Definitely an Upgrade 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

So so happy I got these guys. Makes working on my bay 10X easier, I have no idea why I didn't get this years ago! Instal is about 10 min too, can't beat it!
  
Was this review helpful?
Should have been my first mod 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

I wish I would have bought these a long time ago would have made all of my installs much easier, speaking of installs I think these took all of 5 minutes super easy. Don't hesitate buy these and stop fighting your stock hood prop.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
F--ing AWESOME! 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Ummm... can I say (F--ing) in the title? These things are freakin awesome and were a breeze to install. The lift the hood at damn near 90 degrees and give lots of room to work as well as light. VERY HAPPY and would tell everyone about them. I put them on my lil' 2.5i in advance of a CAI project and it gave lots of hood room while working at the back of the engine. VERY HAPPY!
  
Was this review helpful?
Awesome product 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

These struts get the hood completely out of my way no matter where I need to lean into the engine bay. I would highly recommend them.
  
Was this review helpful?
Grimmspeed FTW 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

These are awesome, great quality like always from Grimmspeed. It lets a lot more light into the engine bay and gets that silly good prop out of your way. Easily worth the money.
  
Was this review helpful?
Product images
Community Media
GrimmSpeed Hood Struts (Part Number: )
GrimmSpeed Hood Struts (Part Number: )
GrimmSpeed Hood Struts (Part Number: )
GrimmSpeed Hood Struts (Part Number: )
GrimmSpeed Hood Struts (Part Number: )
GrimmSpeed Hood Struts (Part Number: )
GrimmSpeed Hood Struts (Part Number: )