SET YOUR CAR
FREE SHIPPING
On orders over $100
TALK TO A PARTS EXPERT
RALLYSPORT GUARANTEE
100% Money Back on Select Parts

PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava

MODEL # PTPFPRO35-009-07

$134.95


33 Reviews
4.8 out of 5 Stars
5 Stars
(27)
4 Stars
(5)
3 Stars
(0)
2 Stars
(1)
1 Stars
(0)
Customer Photos and Videos
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava ( Part Number: FPRO35-009-07)
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava ( Part Number: FPRO35-009-07)
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava ( Part Number: FPRO35-009-07)
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava ( Part Number: FPRO35-009-07)
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava ( Part Number: FPRO35-009-07)
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava ( Part Number: FPRO35-009-07)
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava ( Part Number: FPRO35-009-07)
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava ( Part Number: FPRO35-009-07)
Very High Quality 2 months ago
5out of 5stars

Let me say that this is my first turbo blanket ever owned. My only other experience is seeing them on other people's cars. That being said, this is a very well made, good quality blanket. There is some debate about if blankets actually do anything or not, but there's a really good episode of Engineering Explained where they do some extensive testing to prove that turbo blankets make a difference. I would buy this product again.
  
Was this review helpful?
Review 2 months ago
5out of 5stars

Lava blanket works well. There was a smell the first time on but the instructions said it was normal. Don’t smell it no more, after an intense drive, I can touch the blanket with no problem. Great product, does the job!
  
Was this review helpful?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Ptp lava turbo blanket 10 months ago
5out of 5stars

Bought this heat blanket for my blouch 20gxtr w/10cm exhaust housing. I didn’t know what to expect for fitment, but after the quick install everything was snug and fully covered leaving perfect clearance for the internal wastegate actuator arm as well as the cooling hose and oil feed line. It is very universal in my opinion. Took my ride on a good run and was impressed with how much heat it holds to itself. Usually after a ride I’ll touch the outside of my hood and it’s pretty warm, but I can’t say the same anymore. Good job guys!
  
Was this review helpful?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Looks good easy to install 1 year ago
5out of 5stars

I have it installed for a few weeks now, it does seems to bring the under hook temp. down, weather start cooling down here in Las Vegas, so the real test comes next summer, some experience smoking after installation, I didn't see any at all, I guess the key is to make sure you don't get any dirt or on it like it saids on the instruction.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Wow, it's true what they say about it holding in that heat... 2 years ago
5out of 5stars

well, this might be a pretty little penny, but it you're interested in getting lower temps in your engine bay, this is one of the best ways to accomplish that. I'd heard elsewhere that "even after a drive, I could touch the heat shield"...but lo and behold, after installing it, it's true--after regular driving (no I wasn't blasting it and then popping the hood), I was able to pop the hood immediately after arriving home and then touching the OEM heat shield. Bear in mind, it's not cool enough that I would just leave my hand and palm there, but when touching the heat shield, it's be like yeah, "it's hot". I wouldn't even dream of doing this before the turbo blanket, as during similar conditions upon opening the hood, it'd be like Heat Waves shimmering off the turbo area--Scorching Hot heat shield YO!
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
RONIN STI  3 years ago
5out of 5stars

I needed the best blanket available so I chose PTP Installation was easy and fittmant was right on even for a TD06 20G turbo the quality is high and the price is right it's value far outweighs it's cost.PTP has ur turbine covered!and RSD delivered with quick & affordable shipping.
  
Was this review helpful?
The cherry on top 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

This is a beautifully constructed part. Went all out with the gold one to match my gold titanium wrapped Grimspeed up-pipe and cross pipe. Looks dope under my Cobb heat shield. Pricy, and certainly lower on the mod list IMHO.. When running this with the Cobb SF intake, Perrin turbo inlet pipe, and Perrin TMIC, the temp difference between the outside temp and my intake temp is usually +9-11 degrees. Considering these gasses have been heated in the engine bay and super heated in the turbo, I'd say that's pretty dang amazing. Part of that has to do with the turbo blanket, but more so the oversized intercooler, nevertheless, the blanket surely helps. Now planning to upgrade my radiator and hoses to protect the turbo during cool down from being over stressed by the heat. Oh yeah, don't put your hand on it or the heat shield, unless you want to get burned.. Things still get mighty hot under there. This blanket primarily reduces heat soak on the TMIC. Bottom line: if you have to ask how much this part is, you don't need it, get an oversized TMIC first (IMHO).
  
Was this review helpful?
Fits Tight - Works Great 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

Keeps under hood temps down as advertised. Install was a piece of cake, removing the stock head shield not so much. Once it was installed and warmed up I hesitantly tested it by touching the heat shield. It was definitely cool enough to touch. Intake side temps have been down by about 40 degrees ( monitored with Cobb APV03 ) during regular highway driving. Very Pleased
  
Was this review helpful?
Good Product 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

I installed this in my 04 WRX a few months back and it was fairly easy to install. Could have used some simple instructions along with the blanket, but it's not hard to figure it out. I didn't have a heat shield or anything before, and this seems to be doing a good job of taking it's place.
  
Was this review helpful?
Turbo Blanket 05 STi 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Put this blanket on along with a Grimmspeed heat shield and I was blown away by the results. My IAT's dropped my TMIC was much cooler to touch. I highly recommend this blanket greatly helps with heat soak.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great fit, easy install, noticeable difference. 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Once you get the stock heat shield off this is super easy to put on, looks good, fits great and actually does make a difference in the turbo spool. 2010 STi hatch
  
Was this review helpful?
Looks nice, does it's job better than others. 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

I have used other blankets, this one provided better coverage and performance than others I have tried.
  
Was this review helpful?
Worth it! 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Good instructions, easy install, quality product!Another amazing must-have offered by RSD!
  
Was this review helpful?
Works on a VF52 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Install was easy enough. The hardest part was waiting for everything to cool down enough to install it. It does everything i need it to.
  
Was this review helpful?
Does what it intends 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Like other reviews you can touch this turbo blanket even after an extended run and not burn your hand. Looks appealing under the hood as well.
  
Was this review helpful?
What a surprise! 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Purchased this and installed it with the STP heat shield. I am running a triple heat protection set up. This turbo blanket, OEM stock WRX heatshield and the STP heat shield on top of it. As soon as it was installed I ran the car as hard as possible for a few good minutes, came back, with the car on was able to leave my hand on the heat shield for a good minute! Does the job!
  
Was this review helpful?
Heat retention and less heat soaking!!! 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

What can you say, Once I added this item to cover my stock VF turbo it was night and day driving around town. I can easily tell that the engine does feel much more responsive even after driving thru 100 degree temps in So.California
  
Was this review helpful?
Great Product, Fast spool. 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

Great product, immediate difference in the OEM STi turbo spool and impressive decrease in engine bay temperature.
  
Was this review helpful?
Cool (pun intended) stuff 5 years ago
5out of 5stars

I installed this with the Grimmspeed heatshield and have made a drastic change in underhood temps. I can place my hand on the lava blanket after a good drive. My intercooler is cool to the touch. It fits great. Easy install, even with the turbo on the car.
  
Was this review helpful?
So far so good : ) 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

The bracket that held my Cobb heat shield cracked apart, so I figured I'd give this turbo blanket a try. It fit perfectly around the stock VF43 turbo in my '07 STi, and so far seems to be doing it's job. I'm very pleased with how much easier it is to access that area of the engine bay now. The long term results are what I'm most interested in, but I have confidence it will last me a very long time.
  
Was this review helpful?
Underhood temps are down 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

Easy install after i took off downpipe. carefully plan where the wire goes so you get the tension pulling it tightly on. I still have intake temp problems in traffic with my stock WRX IC, so dont hope for a night and day difference. It quieted the spool noise but builds boost faster. starts building boost at the same RPM but opens the wastgate sooner. Im not sure if I should of just upgraded the IC instead of messing with wrapping everything.
  
Was this review helpful?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Great quality, worth the purchase. 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

I can literrally place my hand on the lava blanket for a few seconds after gettin down on her. I also have a grimmspeed heat shield over it. 'Nuff said
  
Was this review helpful?
Gold is best 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

War against Heat soak..RSD strong always!
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Quality Part. 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

This thing is very well designed. There have been nothing but positive reviews on all the WRX/STI forums so I don't expect it to disappoint after I install it.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Amazing heat reduction 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

You can literally touch the blanket after hours of driving. underhood temps are much lower than with the factory heat shield and according to the factory MPG gauge I picked up a few MPGs on the highway which is a great bonus.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Does what it's made for great product 6 years ago
5out of 5stars

Man this is an excellent product. This turbo blanket holds the heat in and even after hours of driving I can touch it without getting burned.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great Product! Definetly keeps the Temp's down!  6 years ago
5out of 5stars

Bought this because I saw a couple reviews on NASIOC. This product is awesome. Very easy to install. Put it on and went for a 30 minute drive. Came back and immediately popped the hood and I could put my hands near the turbo area easily. Before it would be way to hot to even try to put my hand close to the turbo.
  
Was this review helpful?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2012 WRX, money well spent! 9 months ago
4out of 5stars

Does exactly what is says it does. Dropped my IAT by 2-3 F. The wire it shipped with snapped on me, not sure if it was the line or my kung fu grip. Ordered the springs.
  
Was this review helpful?
Works great - wiring is annoying 4 years ago
4out of 5stars

Honestly a 5 star product but gets 4 because for 140 bucks there should be some supplied fastener asides from just some wire. As far as heat retention - I see maybe a 150 rpm quicker spool due to the turbo staying hot. No change in intake air temp, but I am also not using my hest shield because it rattles. I am surprised actually that intake air temps didn't go down because I can leave leave my hand on the blanket with the car running which was NOT possible with just a heat shield. The turbo side of the intercooler never even got truly warm to the touch after spirited daily driving. There is a smell for about 2 days but goes away and the package insert warns you of this so you aren't surprised. Good product and fairly inexpensive.
  
Was this review helpful?
Great product, a little small for my turbo 5 years ago
4out of 5stars

Great blanket, keeps it much cooler. But I would've preferred the blanket to come close to touching on both sides. AKA wrap fully around the turbo.
  
Was this review helpful?
Product images
Community Media
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava (Part Number: )
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava (Part Number: )
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava (Part Number: )
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava (Part Number: )
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava (Part Number: )
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava (Part Number: )
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava (Part Number: )
PTP Turbo Blankets Turbo Blanket Lava (Part Number: )