SET YOUR CAR
FREE SHIPPING
On orders over $200
TALK TO A PARTS EXPERT
RALLYSPORT GUARANTEE
100% Money Back on Select Parts
We're Open! We're ready to ship orders and answer your build and order questions!

PST Carbon Fiber Driveshaft

MODEL # PSTIZS-1559

$1,071.43


9 Reviews
4.6 out of 5 Stars
5 Stars
(6)
4 Stars
(2)
3 Stars
(1)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Stars
(0)
Customer Photos and Videos
PST Carbon Fiber Driveshaft ( Part Number: IZS-1559)
PST Carbon Fiber Driveshaft ( Part Number: IZS-1559)
PST Carbon Fiber Driveshaft ( Part Number: IZS-1559)
Great product but beware of compatibility with other mods 7 months ago
5out of 5stars

The driveshaft it great and install was a breeze! Excellent quality, and can really feel a difference in drivability (2016 STI). However, after the install I was getting serious clunking (the only reason I downgraded the quality). RSD customer service was great in trying to help, and reached out to PST. In the end, we discovered the driveshaft was not compatible with my Group N transmission mount. The Group N tranny mount was thicker than the stock mount, which forced the transmission to sit up higher (closer to the cabin). As a result, the driveshaft was hitting my rear shifter bushing with every rotation. Had I not been concerned enough to tear everything apart until the problem was found, it could have caused some serious damage. Beware of that when going for this.
  
Was this review helpful?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Carbon drive shaft 3 years ago
5out of 5stars

The best modification for your car is the carbon driveshaft.The jolting in the drivetrain from the stock 2 piece steel shaft is terrible. The shifting transition as well is better,I feel the car acelleration now is more connected with the one piece shaft, the rotating mass loss is also an extra bonus to.Install is a breeze, just be careful when inserting the shaft into trans housing respect the seal there.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
PST CF DS 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

Had mine done yesterday at Cobb. Less arguing with the clutch leaving 1st and id agree with others the car revs better through the gears. No improvement on NVH unless your old shaft was loose/carrier bushings shot. PST makes other shafts for other cars with $125 forged aluminum yolk upgrades and these scoob shafts only come in steel yolk, didnt see an aluminum upgrade on PST site to get weigh down to 12lb(??) Im assuming they have a pricing deal worked out through RSD w the steel yolks. YT 'boostaholics PST GC8' that vid he visits PST shop in Clearwatee and you can see our shafts with shiney yolks like the DSS but they spray em all black before shipping. Ive read rumor on forum DSS supplies them w the CF bores but that may be wrong? No buyers remorse except the wife found out and shes pissed lol.
  
Was this review helpful?
Love this driveshaft 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

Such an underrated modification. Smooths out drivetrain noise and harshness, allows for better launches, and reduces weight. There are very few mods with no downsides, but this is one of them. Highly recommended.
  
Was this review helpful?
An absolute must have 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

This drive shaft completely changed the way my car accelerates throughout the entire set of gears. It is nothing short of amazing how much smother my 2015 STI is now that I am running this driveshaft. Install is seamless and took me right at an hour with just a jack and jack stands.
  
Was this review helpful?
Must have upgrade!! 4 years ago
5out of 5stars

I have a 2015 WRX STI and I have had a lot of work done to it. The whole top of the engine has been rebuilt and it has a COBB 20G turbo on it. It has aftermarket wheels, tires, fin, exhausts, grills, etc. etc. This carbon drive shaft was the best up-grade I have done so far. The car drives completely different. The up-shifts and down-shifts are both so much smoother it is ridiculous. I am almost convinced that something must have been wrong with my stock drive shaft (which by the way is a 2 piece system). I promise, if this does to you car what it did to mine, you would gladly pay twice what this cost.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Best Mod with no downsides 2 years ago
4out of 5stars

Wether your bone stock or modified, you'll wonder why this driveshaft didn't come from the factory with one. I've had my PST shaft on my 2016 Subaru STI for about a week and all I can say is, the jerky 1st to 2nd gear shifts are gone, the car revs much more freely, and starting from a dead stop is a breeze. It might just be me but I also feel as if the turbo is spooling up a couple hundred rpm's faster. This is honestly one of the few modifications that doesn't require a tune and has none of the drawbacks of noise, vibration, or harshness. The only drawback is the price, which is a little steep, but luckily I bought this when it was on sale during Black Friday. If your on the fence about buying this shaft, don't think DO IT!
  
Was this review helpful?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Excellent Product, Couple Install Notes 4 years ago
4out of 5stars

The "install video" here is inadequate. The process is straightforward, but there's more too it than what's in the video. It took me 90mins with hand tools. 1. Safely jack car up on stands or ramps, all four corners will make life easier. 2. Get working on the six bolts holding your mufflers to the midpipe, leave the last one barely on. Remove the hanger from the rubber bumper. 3. Loosen the two bolts on the forward end of the midpipe at the cat, be nice to your donut gasket, and drop midpipe to floor, remove last bold on muffler side. 4. Get to work on the four heatshield bolts. They're easy but the O2 sensor wire goes though it. I made a small cut the the heatshield instead of taking the sensor out. 5. Loosen and remove the four bolts on the rear diff side of the driveshaft, and have something to rest that end on, as the shaft won't flex enough at the midjoint to touch the floor. Move on to the two large bolts at that mid joint and get ready to hold 30+lbs . Supporting the whole driveshaft, pull it out of the transmission, some fluid will leak. 6. Before reversing this process, put some grease or something in the spline of the new one. The four bolts you're reusing? Those heads are round with one flat side, to rest against a flat edge of the old knuckle. That doesn't work on the new one, you'll need an open ended wrench to hold them from spinning, while you tighten the nut. If you are re-using those crush washers, add some loctite and let it cure 24 hours. When you install the new shaft, you'll have to line it up on the spline, so that all four holes on the rear diff match. Or if e-brake is off, maybe just turn it. 7. Re-install heatshield, re-attach midpipe. You're done.
  
Was this review helpful?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Did not FIT!!! 7 months ago
3out of 5stars

This drive shaft is advertised 2015+, however it did not fit my 2019 STI because it was too long. The slip yoke bottom out in the transmission and was over a 1/2" too long. It was unfortunate because the quality of the shaft was great. Very light and well manufactured. Not sure why it wouldn't fit as the measurements seem to match what the specs were from PST. I really wanted this on my car and thought about taking the car to PST to have them measure out my cars driveline specs and have one specifically made to my car but they are to far away. Rated the quality 5, value, performance and installation i couldn't honestly rate as i never got it installed.
  
Was this review helpful?
Product images
Community Media
User Media for: PST Carbon Fiber Driveshaft - Subaru STI 2015+
User Media for: PST Carbon Fiber Driveshaft - Subaru STI 2015+
User Media for: PST Carbon Fiber Driveshaft - Subaru STI 2015+